Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Losing wifi at about 60-70 meters high

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Barbs666, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Barbs666

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    Im currently getting between 60 - 70 meters of height until i lose video feed.. Does that sound about right ? And does the phantom still record when video feed is lost ? Anyfeed back appreciated. thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. witerlaw

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey,

    Which phantom do you have ?
     
  3. Barbs666

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    3 standard


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. RobBarron

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Poole, UK
    In reply to your second question, yes it will continue filming when the link is lost. However, that distance is woeful and you should be getting much better than that. DJI claim up to 1.2 kms though of course this is dependent on local conditions. Could there be something where you are flying that might be affecting your signal, an electricity pylon etc? If not then you may have an issue. Have you done all latest FW updates and after that recalibrated the IMU and Gimbal? That is definitely what I would check first.

    Hope that helps.
    Cheers, Rob
     
  5. witerlaw

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok we have the same one, so when I fly I loose video feed at 300 meters away from me.

    Did you check your antenna ?
    I think your antenna is misplaced.
    It depend where you are flying too...
    Did you try to fly somewhere else ?
    It should be like 90°

    [​IMG]
     
  6. witerlaw

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    You are right, I thought the same things...
     
  7. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas
    Was this directly overhead?
     
  8. Barbs666

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your replys .. Yes directly over head


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. witerlaw

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Your welcome, but you should contact Dji or where you buy your drone :)
    Just let us know
     
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    On a standard the external antenna on the remote is transmitting to the Phantom (controlling it). The video is being received from the phantom on two antennas inside the remote near the top. How you hold the remote is still important for both operations.
     
  11. Barbs666

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks, i try and fly it 2moro and see how i go with all the advice cheers guys


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Barbs666

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Successful much better range thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app