Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Losing Vid Trans and Signal too soon?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by fred_lefevre, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. fred_lefevre

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi - I am getting signal loss at 3,500/3,600 feet out which is not as far as I would have expected on my P3A. Maybe I need to reset my expectations but I did lose both video and signal. I also think that the app must have locked up since I never got vid back until I closed and reopened the app after I landed - probably should have done that in flight at some point. I did a manual RTH although I assume it would have initiated an RTH on it's own but not sure about that.

    Any feedback on whether my expectations are out of line?

    I am on 1.7. I am attaching my flight record in case anyone cares for a look.

    Thanks,
    Fred
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    This happens. Mostly interference. I went out 15k one day. All good. The next time at same location. Could not go further than 4000ft out and lost signal. I think it is maybe a gremlin in the controller. I could be wrong. :)


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Signal strength depends on many factors such as distance, moisture in the environment, line of site, obstructions between RC and AC, antenna position and alignment, noise at RC, noise at AC.........
     
  4. fred_lefevre

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the replies Tony and hmm Alok?

    I am still new to the Phantom Platform with only 20 flights so still have a lot to learn.

    Fred
     
  5. NYRangers99

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County NY
    Will the DBS mods antenna help with "Signal Lost" for video feed?