Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Losing signal between 50-75 feet

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by junkflyer, Sep 22, 2014.

  1. junkflyer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using my Phantom 1 for about 2 mos now without any problems. All of a sudden it will now lose the signal and go into safe mode at around 50 feet. Fresh batteries and still the same problem. It will go through its setup program as usual. Finds the satellites then blinks green. As I get outside of the 50-75 foot range it will start to blink yellow and go into the failsafe mode. I can recover it when it gets inside that range and I turn OFF then ON the GPS switch.
    Any suggestions as what could have gone wrong?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    I don't know how low you can go but have you looked at max radius in your assistant software to make sure it did not get lowered to something like 75'?

    Just tossing it out there to check.
     
  3. junkflyer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, Ive checked that and it is set at 1000m
     
  4. junkflyer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering what the most likely problem would be? A physical problem (Loose wire) or a programing issue....? Everything is set at factory defaults and looks to all be in the green on that end.
     
  5. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Antenna loose, broken, etc. on Tx or Rx.
     
  6. junkflyer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Took apart the Phantom for the first time and all looks good. Took apart the TX and yup black antenna wire is off. Now what to re-connect it to?
     
  7. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Can you send photo?
     
  8. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    No glue?

    There is a small round connector off the end of a metal shielding can where it plugs in.
     
  9. junkflyer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found it. Thanks!!! I just ordered a RPSMA RG178 cable and new omnidirectional antenna. Might as well upgrade while I'm in there.