Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. frankieo11

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Guys I need help. Installed the new firmware and flew her for the very first time. Not even 40 feet directly above me out in my yard I lose signal and video. Why in the world would that be???? Right out of the box, completely updated. Why?
     
  2. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    I flew mine right of the box yesterday perfect didn't update anything thank god and she's fine, could be a controller issue.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    Perhaps the antennas were not positioned properly. Check out this video:

     
    Jussaguy likes this.
  4. WWK888

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    194
    Check your antenna orientation when flying directly above.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. T Dunkin

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    If the antenna are pointing straight up.....and the bird is right above you it will loose signal. It may help to tilt the antenna down when flying right above you. You could also have some near by wifi signal interference. Try another location.
     
    Jussaguy likes this.
  6. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    At 40ft should not lose signal even if leave the antennas crossed like when you put back it in the box.
     
    Ramphex and Aramis like this.
  7. Ramphex

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Make sure the RC is updated to the latest firmware.
     
  8. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Also make sure the app is updated
     
  9. frankieo11

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Firrmware and app were all updated. BUT come to think of it, since it was just a quick test to see if it worked properly since I hadn't flown it yet, Im not sure I put up the antenna. But even so, like someone said, shouldn't it be fine at 40 feet even with then down? Im gonna try again when I get home but this is really bothering me. What a crap first impression.
     
  10. Icorus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take it out of Beginner mode