Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Losing or weak image signal 2000 ft

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Wibble, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I flew today in a very large open space. At a distance of only about 2000 feet I kept getting a red warning message saying weak image signal or something like that.
    Is this because my galaxy s5 auto updated to dji go?
    I haven't updated the aircraft yet.
    Is this down to loss of channels or is that governed by the phantom itself?
    Doesn't give me much confidence for longer range flights. I am sure I have flown further in the past and not had this problem. Is it the new app?
     
  2. scooterchris

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    11
    Update the firmware on the bird aswell. Calibrate the imu, camera and the compass and try and again. See if that does better.
     
    richardseguro likes this.
  3. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I am reluctant to update the phantom itself won't I lose lots of channels?
     
  4. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    If you have a weak signal at that distance you either don't have your antennas oriented properly, you're not flying in clean line of sight, or there may be heavy RF interference near you or where your Phantom if flying over. Also flying too low will hurt range, the higher you go the further youll get.

    Also you're channels unless you've used the channel mod have already long been reduced to 8 channels. You can upgrade your firmware without worries about the channels and from what I hear the mod to enable the full 32 channels does work on the new current firmware. And it definitely works in the latest go app as I've tested it tho my phantom is currently on 1.1.9 firmware. I'll upgrade my phantoms firmware during the week.
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,765
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    None of these have anything to do with signal strength.
     
  6. scooterchris

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    11
    Sure it does meta4 if he hasn't downloaded the firmware for the bird itself