Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Losing Control Signal inside 300 ft after first crash

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by pawnmeister, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. pawnmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had first crash...not serious...tangled up in small tree branches about 12 feet off ground at 15 mph...tumbled onto grass. All four props were broke but no other damage. Replaced props with DJI spares. I did compass dance afterward and tested leds but nothing else. The Vision hovers and flys fine but I now lose Control signal at anywhere from 200-400 ft away. Antenna is properly angled. Do I need to calibrate IMU? Any other ideas? Thanks
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Check the state of the aircraft antennas. Are the wires at the bottom of the landing skids pointing straight down and both intact and damage-free?
     
  3. pawnmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pull_Up, they are secure inside the legs...not loose at all. Should I open up the shell to look around?
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Always worth a look inside after any crash. Check for loose plugs, solder joints and anything else untoward.

    An IMU calibration only resets the inertial management system - nothing to do with the receiver. Trace the antennas inside back to the receiver board and just see if anything looks obviously amiss.

    Vide in my sig shows you how to remove the shell and what tools you'll need if you've not done it before.
     
  5. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    Might seem a stupid question but do the batteries in your controller need replacing ?
     
  6. pawnmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mossie...at this point I am still wide open to ideas...I am methodically checking everything before I crack open the PV2. The batteries are fresh. I fly out in the country, there is no RF interference. I opened the controller to check antenna wire...all looks good. It has always been in FCC mode. Nothing is rattling inside the PV2 but I will open it up and take a look tonite. Thanks guys for the ideas.
     
  7. pawnmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...so I lifted the lid on the PV2...all looked OK...the antenna connections can be seen through the battery channel once you know what you are looking at! I closed it up, opened the controller to double check the antenna wire...all looks fine. I have done a couple test flights and range has improved to about 1000 ft. It seems to lose signal directly above my head much sooner...closer to 500ft. I am making sure controller antenna orientation is always pointed correctly. The controller has no mods. Is there any way that the repeater mod using a 5db t-link could be affecting the control signal strength? It was my first test flight with repeater mod that triggered my first ever "return to home". I flew the vision w/o repeater present to test the theory but range did not improve. I'm running out of ideas...any suggestions before I contact DJI?
     
  8. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    1000ft was about the max control range I got in any direction before fitting the Horizon FPV 5.8 9dBi helical on tx only and that doubled that to 2000ft...
     
  9. pawnmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simon...that kind of distance in FCC mode? Seems sluggish, but I hadn't really tested the boundaries yet...but I would lose FPV prior to control signal in the few flights I have taken.
     
  10. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Yep. I think it might have been because I tend to fly in leafy (and recently very damp!) countryside, so lots of clutter like hills, hedges and trees. I wanted 1500ft and ended up with 2000ft. Next I'll mod the aircraft and see if I can't improve the quality of the signal even further - not for more distance per se, but also to operate solidly amongst or even behind trees, etc.