Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loosing connection at high altitude.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Prometheus_Xex, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. Prometheus_Xex

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So out of curiosity I'm wondering why I lose signal when I go 578 meters up, but yet I'm able to go out at lower altitudes to 4 kilometers? You would think that if you can go out for kilometers with full connection, surely you'd be able to go up at least one kilometer without losing connection.

    No?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    No ... it's all to do with the angles between the antennas on the controller and the Phantom.
    For good signal strength you need the antennas to be as close to parallel as possible.
    Straight up is always the trickiest point to maintain good signal.
     
    diablovista likes this.
  3. Prometheus_Xex

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I did try to keep it as parallel as possible to the quad. No matter what I did I could not regain connection. I flew it out away from me a bit and then straight up so as to try not have it directly over me.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    OK .. I should have said parallel and pointed at each other.
    The higher you go straight up, the more impossible this is.
     
    snowghost likes this.
  5. Prometheus_Xex

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's how I had it. I remember this video.
     
  6. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    At that altitude you will need to be quite a long way away or else holding the transmitter above your head almost upside down!
     
  7. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    The app limits your height. 500 Meters is the default limit. What are you looking for up there?
     
    phantom13flyer likes this.
  8. olof Ekbergh

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Mt Washington Valley
    Also remember the antennas in the Phantom are vertical, so as you gain altitude they effectively move sending and receiving weaker signals.

    The RC or TX is only half of the equation.
     
  9. Ptr

    Ptr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    61
    U sure Fplvert mines 400ft/120m limit
     
  10. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
  11. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    No .. you can adjust that..
    The machine though is limited to 500 metres above your home point.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Prometheus_Xex

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm using an older version of Litchi which still allows a maximum altitude of 6000m. I can manually take it up 578m before loosing signal on my first attempt.

    My goal is 600m.
     
  13. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I would think it would work better if you fly out a similar distance to your altitude so the angle is more like 45 degrees.
    Straight above you are 'aiming' at the bottom end of the antenna which is in the leg; it's impossible to have the two sides - where most signal emanates from - facing each other.
     
  14. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I don't normally like pointing out spelling mistakes etc but I see it so many times - people who don't know the difference between loosing and losing. Two different words with totally different meanings.
    My apologies if it was just a typo!
     
  15. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    Retractable landing gear will be your friend. To keep the birds antenna facing the remotes.
     
  16. adanac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    I would love to know the resource you're using that tells you with 100% certainty there are no aircraft up there.
     
  17. Prometheus_Xex

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    My eyes. They're good like that.

    Also, due to the weather yesterday, the planes landing at the airport about 20km away were landing in an east/West line. I'm far north of them. Generally speaking they never come overhead for landing. I live on the edge of farm lands. It's perfect for flying overall.
     
  18. olof Ekbergh

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Mt Washington Valley
    So with your eyes only you can see the P3P that far up and way!

    That is amazing, I have 2020 vision and I am a GA pilot used to scanning for traffic. And I loose sight of the P3P at about 400m distance and altitude combined.

    The test is to look down at the iPad/controller and then look up and try to find the MR. Especially if there are clouds and a bit of hazy sky.

    Larger Hexas I feel I can see about 600m out, but I don't fly anything further than out that.

    I am pretty sure Canada has an altitude limit as well for model aircraft. If they don't they should.

    Here in the US it is 400' AGL (120m), you can argue if it is a law or just a rule. As an AMA modeler, you have to follow the AMA guidelines and those are max altitude 400' always in sight, and a few other rules as well, or your AMA insurance is no good.

    Fly safe and have fun...
     
  19. Prometheus_Xex

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No... I can't see it when it's at the 500m height limit in DJI GO (as opposed to Litchi) against the bright sky. I doubt anyone can. If I try for height, I tend to keep it close. This is where I rely on the onboard camera pointing down to get visual feedback. I'm assuming others do the same. It's different at night due to blinking lights and black sky.
     
  20. olof Ekbergh

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Mt Washington Valley
    I would not advertise the way you fly, and I would not recommend others try it either. It is dangerous.

    You are relying on an automatic system to bring the MR back. What if the GPS system goes down. And also winds aloft can be very high. If you fly into some fast winds aloft and the MR is carried away you would soon loose connection and then the return home would not be able to fight the wind. MR would be gone, who knows where to.

    I always wonder about those MRs reported by ATP pilots at thousands of foot altitudes. I bet some are ones that just got carried away.

    Inorder to keep this hobby as open as it currently is we all need to be very careful. And to promote safe operation on these boards.

    I think very soon there will be an absolute AGL limit and distance limit built into MRs, and I think this is a good thing for this great hobby. Flying out of sight is unsafe unless you are on an instrument flight plan, that show long range military drones operate under control.
     
    PhantomFoxtrot likes this.