Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loose sateliteswhen I record

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by rrmccabe, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Fix here

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=19099
     
  2. RIDETOEAT

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison Indiana
    This is the fix, I just done it last eve. And there is a world of difference on my first test. It's easy to get mad and complain cause DJI should of done this and I was about to, but truthfully it's much easier to just do this mod. I was about 30 minutes all total and done.
     
  3. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Yes, if you read that thread, you will see the satellites drop when you press record. So it not only improves overall, but with record too.
     
  4. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I'm not so sure this has to do with his satellite reception. I would lean toward it being a wifi problem of some kind.
     
  5. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Yes it is a WiFi problem, sort-of, but more a design consideration not fully implemented or effective (i.e. DJI's small OEM shield).
    The foil shielding mod appears to be effective for most whether recording or not, so there is obviously some level of interference from the o/b electronics including the camera or related system(s).
    Though I have not seen any actual measurement of the possible interfering signals or their amplitude, the WiFi component is easily corroborated anecdotally by experiments that many have done.
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Try the link rrmccabe provided you.

    It entails basically increasing the size of the OEM shield by augmenting it with foil or similar materials.

    Be sure to redo the compass compensation after adding, removing, or relocating components in or on the a/c.
     
  7. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Welcome.

    "Where in the world are you located?
     
  9. RIDETOEAT

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison Indiana
    Congrats !! It gives you a lot more confidence in the machine staying locked on and flying stable in the wind.
     
  10. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Hope you put packing tape over it. !