Looking for a Starter Multicopter

Reaction score
Howdy, my first post here.

I'm looking for something relatively cheap that I can learn on, and eventually upgrade to one of these Phantom 3 quads (I must have one). I'm very interested in this as a hobby, and even the possibility of making money commercially by providing an arial imaging service. (I'm aware of this Section 333)

But I don't want to buy something so expensive and risk the possibility of crashing it while learning. Are there any suggestions from pilots here on where I should begin learning to fly? I don't have any experience with RC aircraft of any kind, but I'm a pretty mean chopper pilot in DayZ and ArmA ; )

Another vote for Hubsan x4 models. Those things are great, and super durable. I crashed mine at least 15 times in the first week I had it (mind you they were drops from like 100' up straight down onto cement, a few crashes into redwood trees, some crashes into sandy beaches, etc) and never had to repair anything. Not even the props.

Plus once you learn to fly the little Hubsan, upgrading to a P3 will seem like a child's toy with how easy it is to fly.

Reactions: MDR
I learned on the X5C. I still fly it.

Learning to fly any 4/6 channel quad will help prepare for a Phantom. The Hubsans are popular but may type are available. Get one that has the same conrtrol system as the Phantom. Even a $20.00 Cheerson CX 10 will work as a trainer.

Ok, thanks for the responses.

So which ones have the same control type as the Phantom?

Here's a contrary view.
You'll get plenty of people suggesting this toy quad or that one but no trainer quadcopter is as easy to fly as the Phantom 3.
There's plenty of reading and understanding needed but it will take you about 5 minutes to learn to fly it - really.
But it will take plenty of practice and experience to become proficient and understand all the things that can go wrong and how to ensure that they don't.

Reactions: Josh Curtiss
Here's a contrary view.