Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Looking for a P3P camera/gimbal

Discussion in 'Classifieds' started by Mark Klee, Dec 24, 2015.

  1. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    I'm looking to upgrade from my P3A to a P3P - does anybody have parts available that could supply me with just a gimbal and camera? I realize I can buy new for $539 but was looking for a used unit that is fully functional.
    Thanks -
    Mark
     
  2. kingovo

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this what you need?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    I don't think so - at least I've never seen one that color before. Is that for a Phantom 3 - Professional?
     
  4. kingovo

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh no sorry that's for phantom one. My bad bro
     
  5. dronie326

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    I would get in contact with Hunch. He usually has a lot of cameras available. I bought one from him. Good guy to work with.
     
  6. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    Thanks, ended up buying a new drone and now am going to try and sell off the extra parts
     
  7. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    you could have just replaced the main board for $100 and put a PRO main board on Advanced gimbal and voila you have a P3P.. :)
    that's the only difference between the cameras.
     
  8. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    How much for the gimbal?
     
  9. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    which one are you looking for? i have several of each
     
  10. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    I actually have 2 drones and nobody can seem to figure out the problem with drone #1. I've replaced the board previously and it still doesn't work. #2 needed a gimbal so I just decided to get a new P3P, pull the board and motors and install as an entire unit in #1 and pull the gimbal for #2. Now I have 2 fully functioning drones - and a lot of extra parts.
     
  11. JonEQuest

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    New Orleans Louisiana area
    I was thinking of replacing some parts on my P3A to make it a P3P. Am I right in assuming I just need the P3P camera motherboard and the fan of course?
     
  12. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    you are correct
     
  13. JonEQuest

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    New Orleans Louisiana area
    Cool, now to find one cheap!
     
  14. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    Sorry to disagree, but he's not right.

    The motherboard is the same, it's just a firmware change and a change to the camera. As a matter of fact, I had 2 drones with different issues and purchased a P3P. I pulled the motherboard and put it on a P3A and put the gimbal/camera on my other P3P. Now they both work perfectly and I have a whole lot of extra parts to sell (or use as spares).
     
  15. JonEQuest

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    New Orleans Louisiana area
    By motherboard I meant the motherboard of the camera itself not the actual bird. The camera motherboard has some extra processing chips from the photos I have seen.
     
    Ted4797 likes this.
  16. Mark Klee

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Swaziland, Africa
    I'm not sure what is meant by the "camera motherboard" but i assume it's contained within the gimbal. I simply bought a new gimbal/camera and installed it on a "former" P3A.

    I did notice the fan though. I just thought I'd possibly lost the fan in my other P3A ... maybe not???
     
  17. JonEQuest

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    New Orleans Louisiana area
    I understand I can change the whole thing but I am trying to do it a lot cheaper by salvaging parts and putting together a 4K camera from my 2.7K camera and the essential parts from a 4K one. Then flash my bird to Pro firmware of course.
     
  18. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    No, YOU are wrong. The gimbal main boards (if that is what you are referring to when saying motherboard) are not the same. The main boards inside the phantom itself are the same but main boards inside the gimbal are different.
     
  19. JonEQuest

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    New Orleans Louisiana area
    I just got this photo of the P3P and P3A camera main board differences today.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    Hunch is correct. Switch the gimbal main board to change to a P. I have done it. The cameras are identical. When u are done it is a P even if the camera is from am A. U will be prompted to update firmware