Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Look At Points?

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by stevet, Jul 16, 2014.

  1. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I think the gs system would be much better if we could add in look at points. This would be a simple drop pin and then between way points you could select that point for it to look at. So when its fly's it keeps the front/camera pointed at that point that you have defined on the map.

    I did a small mock up with 2 lookup points in a circle.. DJI you around? This in my opinion would be awesome!



    thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I like it. Excellent mock-up too.
     
  3. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Thanks now if we could only reach out to the ios developers to see if this is something they could do. Im sure its not that simple also since the drone has to fly straight while keeping the point in target.
     
  4. MattBW

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was considering a groundstation after seeing a friends freeware software on his home build quad. The look at gps point whilst moving between waypoints is amazing for video.

    Sad to learn it can't do it. Not even on the pc version?
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Nope, and not even when using DJI's top-shelf flight controller (A2). But now that there's several open-source alternatives with all sorts of great out-of-the-box features, we might see some more competitive options from DJI before long.
     
  6. MattBW

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really appreciate that, you've just saved me a few quid. I'll invest in Fpv instead. :)
     
  7. tbwester

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    No doubt it is possible. Just need to use the compass in the software.
     
  8. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Im' trying to reach out to the developers for the iPad version anyone have any contacts with them?
     
  9. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    DJI? are you listening? This would be such an awesome feature that everyone would love to have!
     
  10. rjstone

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, add this DJI.

    Maybe I should email a link to this thread to the guy who's email address is in the ssh login for the embedded systems on this thing.
     
  11. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I have been unable to find any contact info for the app dev.. if you have any let me know.. I tried their contact channels w/o much success.
     
  12. rjstone

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    The guy who is the developer of the embedded systems probably isn't the same one who writes the iOS/etc apps. I'd rather not publish his email address, but if you know what ssh is and know what to do with it you can find it. (Wouldn't be surprised if he were ignoring that address by now anyway though.)
     
  13. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    Stevet suggestion would greatly increase the utilisationpossibilities of the ground station funtionality. Dji you should take you responsibility!!
     
  14. stevet

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    with the sdk out now, im wondering if this would be possible. It seems like you would need to set your drone into control lock mode so it can fly foward but the camera can be pointing at any direction it was supposed to focus on..