"Long" Range racing quad

Reaction score
Hi, I need some help figuring out which video transmitter I should buy.
I am fairly new to the fpv market, but have many flight hours planes,quads,3d helis etc.
I bought a phantom 3p and it's a nice camera platform but it's definetly not fun to fly, so I wanted a racing quad for my high speed shots and I'll be using a gopro to shoot the video. But what I need help with is figuring out how to send and receive my video feed.
I want about 1mile range won't be needing much more, almost line of sight might be small trees blocking the signal.
And also is the gopro a good camera for "live view" or should I buy a cctv camera also?

Looking at a ~250size quad

Hope you can give me some tips and excuse me if my English isn't perfect=)

Are you interested in actually racing, or just flying through FPV style through trees/parking lots/etc?
The reason I ask is because I've read that anything more than 250mw output is too strong for racing as it will affect the wifi of the people around you.

I agree with you though, flying a p3 is kinda boring, and I reckon learning how to fly a 250 racer in acro mode would make you a much better p3 pilot too.

Hi.
No I will not use the quad for actual racing, a bit of amusement for me but mostly because I shoot mainly high speed events, gocart, trackdays etc. And I feel I could get some interesting shots if I can better keep up with the action on the track, hoping for ~60mph speeds out of my quad, but I only have a guestimation on the weight yet.

Cool stuff. I recently installed a simulator called "FPV Rider" that lets you practice flying a racer. It's really tricky when you put it into acro mode, but I feel like ultimately you want to be able to fly perfectly in acro mode as it gives you the most control over performance. I don't even think Phantom 3s have an acro mode at all.