Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Live feed 'corruption'

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Morgon, Aug 24, 2014.

  1. Morgon

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD
    Has anyone ever had an issue with the live feed to the phone becoming corrupted? Odd, blocky colors, kinda like when you used to turn to the 'special' channels you didn't get on cable as a kid.

    It was quite a scare the first time it happened (about a week ago), and it seems to only happen when the unit has been on the ground a while without the motors spinning (such as when I was playing around with the OS yesterday), so I would venture it's heat-related. Strangely, it doesn't seem to affect actual pictures taken; those still come out fine.

    So all in all, somewhat of a non-issue, but still curious if anyone has experienced it.
     
  2. DBS

    DBS

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Ft. Pierce, Florida
    Happens all over the forums... Common when flying far and then returning in to close range... Or like you said... Working with it on the bench... Doesn't effect the video recording or pictures because those go straight to the SD card without being passed thru WiFi connection... As long as you're not getting major freezes or black screen while in flight when you need FPV... Consider it a non issue :ugeek:
     
  3. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    If you go out of the camera and go back in it usually works.
     
  4. Catalina36

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Saw this today. Video went haywire but telemetry was all there and functioning. Haven't heard yet how his recording turned out. He was close in too when it started.
     
  5. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Mine's done it a couple times (and is very brief - not more than a few seconds), but it doesn't come through on the video file, just the live video to the iPad.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If the phantom is on the ground with the FPV antennas pointing down then the reception you will get will be heaps poor. Its basically bouncing the signals on the ground and back up to the range extender which is likely pointing up and away from the ground.
    The WIFI transmitter is also heat related. For it to operate effectively, the phantom props need to be on to cool the WIFI modular. You'll notice that the transmitters that are over 200miliwatts need fan cooling and a heatsink.
    This will only happen to the FPV screen.