Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi waypoint tests

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Chris Vedeler, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    I'm gaining confidence in the Litchi app to run my P3. Today I had a chance to run it through it's paces over open desert with low wind. It is very cool to just trace out a flight path against a map and have it go. Next tests are in the mountains. There are a lot of unknowns with altitude gain and loss with flight time and time between waypoints.

    Here is the video of the tests:
     
    nhoover likes this.
  2. HD pilot

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    What is Litchi?
     
  3. PilotHarry

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    That's pretty cool! I can't wait till a more "refined" and user friendly version comes out
     
  4. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    Looks great Chris. I also bought the app and am planning to try it out later this week, including waypoints.
     
  5. HD pilot

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Am I invisible? I did a search on my AppStore and got this result ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442971026.919794.jpg Clearly not the same Litchi
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    No for sure-- you wont find it in the apple apps
     
  7. HD pilot

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok thank you
     
  8. Milehigh970

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Those of us on iOS have a app called autopilot
     
  9. P3ChinaSkies

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    10
    HD Pilot - in looking at your screenshot it appears you are in China (like me)? Unfortunately, Litchi is not available for download here. I contacted Litchi directly and they gave me no indication that they could deliver here even in the future. Sux, but if you know China like I do, you are happy that we are at least able to still fly drones here via DJI GO. I'm dreading the day that the Govt comes out with a blanket law that simply prohibits any UFV use by the public....Let me know what city you're in. Cheers!
     
  10. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Out of curiosity what exactly are you wanting, other than features like camera settings etc. As far as user friendly how much easier can it get than what the developer has done?

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
     
  11. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    For waypoints and orbits in Litchi blows DJI Go away even as a beta. Also it allows altitudes above 500 meters which is a huge plus for me.

    It doesn't have camera control yet (you have to set that in DJI Go and switch back) and having come from DJI Go it can be tricky to do things like abort a return to home and locate some settings and functions. But that is what I am doing, learning my way around it for my next mountain video mission.
     
    embayweather likes this.
  12. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Chris, you know that litchi is out of beta, however they do have a beta that has some camera controls, sign up on their website. Also aborting RTH, why not just abort via RC?

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
     
  13. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    I'm running 2.1.0. I can abort the RTH on the controller, but once it goes to RTH during a mission it aborts the mission. I'm playing with the low battery level as it keeps aborting it mission just shy of half way with about 30% left on the battery when it lands. Clearly that is premature.
     
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You know you can adjust those battery settings?
     
  15. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    Yes. Changed from 30% to 20%. Waiting to test again.
     
  16. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If you are at 20, don't be to long getting it on the ground-- you probably have about 2 minutes max.
     
  17. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    The problem is that the P3 is trying to anticipate the flight home. When I am out 1 3/4 miles a 70% battery it wants to return home even though it is almost at the turn around point for the mission anyway. When I let it return, it lands with about 30%. I'd be happy to land with 20% and have it finish it's mission instead thus the change in settings. I almost never run below 20%.
     
  18. Timacbackup

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm getting a lot of upload failures. I wish I could go to a spot with a click of the map without setting up waypoints.
     
  19. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Not sure but what you are describing is exactly how the failsafes should work and you should either as mentioned lower battery settings or temper the distance of the flight, keep in mind though that the timer/anticipation reading for home point does not take into account for headwinds etc, so be aware that timer is not 100% correct.

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
     
  20. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    What is the exact error you are getting?

    On your other request you could use orbit with small diameter, however, be aware if you send the phantom way out there and you loose rc control, the bird will fly to critical battery and just land no RTH.

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk