Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi very bad range

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Darwish, Jul 8, 2016.

  1. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hi, i have an P3S and in litchi i only Get about a 100 meters distance and height.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Ryan Nagy

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    I was really thinking about downloading that app does anybody else have any opinions and experiences I also have the Standard is the Litchi app worth it for the standard?
     
  3. KennyJr

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Johnstown, PA
    Quite a few here love the app. The question is, does the DJI Go app do every thing you need? For me I can't justify $25 dollars for way points which is a feature I don't use. I prefer to control the flight manually. The only feature I've used in GO is course lock when I was letting my wife use it.

    If you want to set way points without first flying them then Litchi is the way to go.
     
  4. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    738
    Location:
    Australia
    How far do you get with the GO App?
     
  5. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Atleast a lot more, i did a test for about a week ago. I got 850 m With DJI go and 300 m With Litchi. And now i only Get to 50 meters distance and 100 meters height With litchi.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. WayneMHK

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS USA
    Personally, I find it a little hard to believe that the app makes a lick of difference in range. When someone wants more range, do they upgrade the software or the hardware? Just sayin'


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    MasterBlaster likes this.
  7. KennyJr

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Johnstown, PA
    I'm not familiar with the settings in Litchi, does the Litchi app have a setting to limit range/altitude like the beginner mode in Go.

    It is also possible I suppose that Litchi uses a different WiFi channel which may or may not have an effect on range. I know for my home WiFi network I get better coverage depending on the channel I use. Can you manually select channels? If so try a different channel. If the are a lot of WiFi networks in the area use an app like WiFi Analyzer to find a channel that isn't used it the area and see if the range improves.

    Just grasping at straws here.
     
  8. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    It Looks like only the video signal has problems, i can still use the rc to control the ac.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes i can change channels, its on auto.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    I downloader wifi analyzer, how do i find the channels that isnt used here?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. KennyJr

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Johnstown, PA
    I have WiFi Analyzer by Kevin Yuan. The very first screen shows which channels are in use, the network name, and relative signal strengths. If you can manually set the channel in Litchi, use one of the unused channels.
     
  12. ccbdav

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have anecdotally experienced reduced video range with Litchi, as well. Particularly in FPV mode. This is while flying from the same location in the country with no other wifi networks in range and under similar weather conditions. It may just be a spot of bad luck when it happens, but I have simply reverted to using Go for longer distance flights (over 250-500m) just to be safe. I still love and use Litchi for missions, panos, and FPV---just suggesting one option.

    For what it's worth, there is a thread somewhere with a quote from a Litchi dev stating the channel-switching feature does not work anymore (I think due to a recent firmware change by DJI a couple of versions ago). I'll try to find the link and post it here for you.
     
    #12 ccbdav, Jul 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
  13. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Oh ok:) Im using DJI Go now too.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    41
    If the video is an issue, are you sure you don't have an underspecked tablet?
    I used DJI GO on an older iPad mini 2, which worked ok. But with Lichi the video got all chopped up. Had nothing to do with the actual range. I swapped with the newest iPad air and both apps performed really well. Or do you actually lose Video connection?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    "The only feature I've used in GO is course lock when I was letting my wife use it."
    You let your wife touch your drone? lol That was funny.
     
  16. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    That's what I thought too. Just downloaded Litchi so haven't tested it too much yet. But today I went to a area I've been a few times before, and went the same route. With Go I made it to 845m and stopped at that point, was going over a RR yard and didn't want to go any further. Today with Litchi I could only make it to 700m (just short of the RR yard) before the auto RTH, tried three times. Two times were at 700m the other even less. Going back maybe tomorrow and try the same route with GO.
     
  17. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    There's a option under camera setting that says "Transmission channel" with choice of (0 to 31 and auto) isn't wifi only channels 1 to 14. But since it says "Transmission" maybe that's the RC it's talking about, not the wifi. But it's under the camera settings??
     
    #17 WilliamM, Jul 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
  18. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Its the video signal, i use an IPhone 6.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    You click the setting tab at the right up corner, you can find the channels there.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. Darwish

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ok, please update us:)


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app