Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi Mission ?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by bkushner, Sep 2, 2016.

  1. bkushner

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Flew my first mission today and all went well. Just couple of questions. On the 1st way point I set it to Turn Camera on and it didn't. Also some of the waypoints I set for 35mph (max) and that didn't happened, it maintained 20 mph the whole mission regardless of what was set in the waypoints.

    Where am I going wrong?

    Here's the mission I created

    Mission Hub - Litchi
     
  2. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    751
    Location:
    Australia
    One possibility is that you had curved waypoints set. Actions will not be completed as the AC flys around the waypoint rather than over it.
     
    Pharm likes this.
  3. bkushner

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I did have curves and did see something about the curve warning. I bet that's it...will remove curves....thanks.,
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes that's true. You won't get actions get activated with curved paths.

    Practice more features in a safe area and learn before you jump over to a major mission. Initially keep flying times limited to 13 minutes. Once you understand battery limitations , go for little more longer missions gradually. Don't go beyond your defined safe limits.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    bkushner likes this.
  5. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    273
    Make sure you read the manual. It tells you that if you have it set to curved paths that actions you set (like "take photo", etc) will be ignored. It tells you this again when you start to add an action. The reason for this is that for an action to take place, the bird must reach the waypoint. With curved paths, it never actually reaches the waypoint. Instead it flies BY it (because of the curve).

    Manual: Litchi for iOS August 2016.pdf

    Concerning speed, if your mission goes out of range of your RC, the mission will continue as planned except your speed will be locked to whatever speed it was going when you lost contact. The same is true for POIs. If RC contact is lost, the gimbal pitch will remain at the same angle it was when contact was lost. This is a limitation of DJI's SDK, not a Litchi issue. Litchi can only work within the framework allowed by DJI (i.e., Litchi can't fix that unless DJI adds support for it in their SDK (Software Development Kit)).
     
    #5 Pharm, Sep 2, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2016
    bkushner likes this.
  6. NRJ

    NRJ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    141
    In the newest version of Litchi, it does allow you to set the speed going from one waypoint to another when you are setting up the way points. In the mission settings you set the speed you want overall, and in each waypoint, you now have the ability to set the speed of each waypoint.
     
    bkushner likes this.
  7. GB71

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    19
    You might also consider setting the "Max Flight Speed" to the max. IMO this could save your arse if you need to get the bird back asap for some reason or you just want to speed up the mission. I believe the default was set fairly low if I remember correctly.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    bkushner and cfd701 like this.
  8. bkushner

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I did this and it didn't work but I assume because I had curves on.
     
  9. regdawg

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Is litchi an app you would use instead of GO? I'm assuming it has more capabilites?

    Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
     
  10. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    273
    Correct.
     
  11. beegee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    7
    In the litchi mission settings there's a global cruise speed setting - I believe if this is lower than your waypoint speeds, you'll get the speed problem you describe


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    bkushner likes this.
  12. beegee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    7
    All your waypoints have the gimbal disabled too, so you won't be able to programme any gimbal moves


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    bkushner likes this.
  13. GaryDZ

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Shelton,CT USA
    Yes, but as Pharm stated, you must be in RC range for the speed change to take effect. I want to be wrong about this so someone correct me if I am.
     
    bkushner likes this.
  14. NRJ

    NRJ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    141
    Yes, I recall that being said in the notes for the upgrade. I can't however find a place where it is mentioned as the manual in the flylitchi.com website hasn't been updated as of this upgrade.
     
    bkushner likes this.
  15. bkushner

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yes this was my first mission wanted to concentrate on just flying..thanks.
     
  16. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    I'm under the impression that speed per waypoint is not an action and thus is available in curved routes as well. This isn't correct? That would a shame if so. In your case I would suspect 35mph isn't really recognized as a doable speed and is ignored. Try setting your max speed at 12mph and custom waypoint speeds when needed to 20mph and see if it takes. I could be completely wrong though. Also it could be your bird was fighting winds aloft and no speed increase was possible.
     
  17. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Max speed is 33.6 mph. Also speed changes only work if you are in RC contact. Be careful with that option. If you slow way down & lose contact it will stay slow & it may be too slow to make it back home.

     
    bkushner and With The Birds like this.