Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi app

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by charlie739, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. charlie739

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi what happens to phantom when it gets last waypoint
     
  2. Slick Wilderness

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can choose options in your Mission Settings like Return to Home, Go to 1st Waypoint, Reverse etc.
     
  3. charlie739

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. GrahamStokes

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London UK
    If you haven't set an option for the last Waypoint, then it will just stop, hover where it is and wait for your instruction. Be careful though, you will be in 'F Mode' to use Waypoints, and although it will maintain altitude (until the battery runs out), its position will not be held by GPS and so, it may drift on the wind. Always a good idea, in this situation, to switch it back to 'GPS Mode' at the end of a Mission.
     
    Pharm, johnny21 and charlie739 like this.
  5. Mavericksan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    What's the size of the app at Android?
    I'm always struggling with free memory. Can it be shifted to SD?
     
  6. Slick Wilderness

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Directly from Android App Info:

    Litchi
    ver 3.5.1
    Total 60.04MB
    App 53.14MB
    USB Storage App 0B
    Data 420KB
    SD Card 6.49MB

    I don't currently have an SD card in my phone and I'm not sure where it's installed on my tablet, so can't really comment...but I will anyway. I don't think it matters.
     
  7. Hickeroar

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    21
    Litchi is a much lighter and higher performing app than the DJI GO one.

    You're probably running low on storage with the DJI app though because the DJI app automatically logs your downlinked video to internal storage. I just turned that video logging off and I get it off the Drone's SD card.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  8. Mavericksan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks folks!
     
  9. SteveN76

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    42
    Doesn't F mode still use GPS? I thought atti mode is the only mode that doesn't use GPS.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  10. Mavericksan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does Litchi use the cashed Google Maps or is Internet connection necessary while on a mission?
     
  11. AngryBird

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Can Litchi run without DJI GO installed on a device?
    Because when I start Litchi, I can see DJI GO has also started in a background.
     
  12. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    GO is not needed for Litchi to work. You MUST STOP GO COMPLETELY BEFORE USING LITCHI or there will be problems.

    Yes, Litchi uses cached maps if you cached any.
     
  13. AngryBird

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lithuania
    GO is stopped. before starting Litchi. What I`m trying to explain is when I start Litchi, GO app also starts in a background.
     
  14. OrlyP

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    I also had this problem, not always, but it's annoying when it happens. I worked around this by using a 7-inch tablet for Litchi, and a different device (my Sony Xperia Z3 Dual smartphone) to run DJI Go.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  15. AngryBird

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lithuania
    You do not have DJI GO on 7-inch tablet ?
     
  16. OrlyP

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    Nope. I mostly use Litchi when flying. I only fire up DJI Go to upgrade the firmware, do calibration and a few stuff Litchi can't do.

    Also, my phone has a faster processor and bigger memory than the low-mid spec tablet so updating firmware, in my personal perception, is likely more reliable using the phone.
     
    gvsukids likes this.
  17. gvsukids

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    28
    Uninstall dji
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  18. dan84uk

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Id uninstall go and only install it when you need it. Litchi can be frustrating also as it has missing options. I couldnt figure out why my p3 wouldnt move past 300m. Turned out GO has access to a maximum radius option setting litchi cant change. Nothing in the litchi app settings would clear it, even the radius option. :mad:
     
  19. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    You can calibrate using Litchi... :cool:
     
  20. OrlyP

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    Compass, yes (but usually flaky).
    IMU and gimbal, no.

    So to do any of the three calibration, I use DJI Go.