Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi app

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Robert LeCapitaine, Feb 15, 2016.

  1. Robert LeCapitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the beta for Android still available ?
     
  2. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    It's now released, no more beta
     
  3. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    There is no beta currently but they are constantly tweaking, just join the beta group and if you want to test the betas when they become available you can.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
  4. telescott

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    89
    The beta was released a few weeks ago. The general release version is now available. Beta is all over.
     
  5. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Why do you guys think betas end? I realize the current has been released and that currently there is no active beta, but that does not mean litchi will stop developing hence the betas will continue it has been that way since the start and that is how software development works.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
  6. telescott

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    89
    Either way, it works fine for me and I really like it. Just check the way-points you build for the proper altitude.

    Fly safe and test it first in a open area. The altitude default is 98 feet If I remember.

    Isn't it great we have this forum to help each other out?
     
    azpilot61 likes this.
  7. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana
    Have you tried it yet?
    Just curious.
     
  8. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    At first I didn't but the more I use it and get used to the features it has and the more the bugs get fixed its been the App I use most lately. I have actually been quite active in getting two issues fixed with the release that to me made it more useful to keep using it.
     
  9. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    Beta is initial version with bugs before the initial release. Once the bugs are mostly fixed then the release build happens. This has already happened with the software. Just because it may have a bug still in it or a new feature added that does not make it beta any longer. Its been noted already on the Litchi site that its a release build.
     
  10. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    So when the the next beta starts which will be soon, then what will you say?

    Not here to argue but 9 out of 10 times there are betas before every release candidate, there will be continued beta version, very soon.

    All I was trying to do is point that out to original poster, that there will be more if they want to test them, that is all.

    The people here that like to comment on my statements seem to think that this particular version brought it out of beta, that happened many months ago and probably 10 versions and 2 SDK versions ago, I am aware as I have tested the betas and run the release candidate version since they introduced litchi for the P3.



    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
    #10 JBG, Feb 16, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
  11. telescott

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    89
    Why argue over if it is the last beta? That said maybe you don't understand that it was the standard version we are talking about

    The latest beta version was released a few weeks ago and just over the past week the release build was done. It wasn't released many weeks ago.
     
  12. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Point taken, sorry

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
  13. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yep the Standard just came out of Beta, the Pro and Advanced has been out for a while so not sure what the point is here. The Standard is not in Beta any longer for the last week. Any future releases will be bug fixes. Not sure what point is trying to be made here.

    Just because a new fix is made in software that does not warrant it being a beta. If that was the case no software would ever be a release version since every bug fix would be a beta.
     
  14. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana
    Can you still set all the settings like RTH altitude, auto land, auto take-off, calibrations?
     
  15. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes, I haven't found the IMU calibration but compass is there along with the other RTH, distance height etc. The auto land and RTH are done with switch 2 in FPV mode and if using waypoints or something like that there is a button. I just toggle sw 2 and let it go. Auto takeoff is there with a button to push.

    screenshot of main screen
     

    Attached Files:

  16. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana
    Thanks AZ....
    I just didn't want to d/l and pay for something that doesn't let set up my bird. I don't want to have to switch from one app to another every time.
     
  17. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    I understand, I'm the same way but the features is what has drawn me into this App and so far I'm using this one more and more. The last 3 flights I haven't touched the DJI app, and I did at first because of things that were not working correctly that are now fixed.
     
  18. mtuhoop24

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Plainfield, IL
    I do think you still need to set up the camera when you are using it in manual mode in the DJI Go app first. so set the exposure and shutter speed in DJI Go first. It stores the settings in the bird then uses them in the Litchi app. Is that correct azpilot61?
     
  19. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yep, I think I have mine set on auto and just let it do its thing
     
  20. mtuhoop24

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Plainfield, IL
    Azpilot61 how do I use the return to home feature in Litch? I don't think there is a buttoned like DJI Go