Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi app with phantom 4 auto record stops after 10 mins aprox and starts again

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Help' started by lfaitas, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. lfaitas

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    10
    Halo,

    I have had this issue a few times and can't figure out why:

    I use litchi for 18 mins aprox flights and I use auto recording function at 1080p 30 fps or 4K somethimes.

    My card is 64gb sandisk extreme pro so it's fast enough and exfat format.

    So speed or format is not the issue.

    It will record for about 10 mins then will stop and start recording again.

    Any ideas why?
     
  2. Harry650

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Gloucestershire UK
    Its reached its 4gb file limit,
     
  3. WWK888

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    206
    As stated above, for some reason the P4 only records up to 4gb, then starts a new file. It is frustrating as you may lose a few frames between files. Just got to learn to edit around the split.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  4. jwt873

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Woodlands, MB Canada
    Just to add.. EXFAT is similar to FAT32. (which the P4 uses). Neither file system can support files larger than 4 GB.
     
  5. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    That is not true. None of it. Phantom can work with both formats, exFAT and FAT32. Unlike FAT32, which has file size limit of 4GB, exFAT has basically no limit. Unfortunately Phantom will still make the 4GB file splitting regardless.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. Neon Euc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    619
    It records in sections as a safety feature.... If one file is corrupt you still have the other sections to watch. If it was all linked and then a corrupt file.. then you will lose all the footage ;-)

    Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. David_Cambridge

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    30
    In actuality, this is a Microsoft caused problem. The FAT, and exFAT, are both file formats that they invented and defined. FAT was designed with that limit hard coded in the spec. It has been causing problems in the video world for many many years. ExFAT was created to remove that limit. DJI never modified their software to take advantage of the new spec, although they will write to exFAT, they still split the files at the old limit.

    It is really not much of a problem, as the two files are easily joined in any video editing software, as the action continues across the cut invisibly.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  8. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    If you just join them split is very visible. Some frames are missing.
     
  9. David_Cambridge

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    30
    Not for me. I have joined more than a dozen, with no problems. What are you using for editing software. I have used both Final Cut ProX, and Resolve with no problems.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  10. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    Missing frames on split is well known and documented issue on P3P. They are just not there. Post can smooth that out but if you just merge last to first frame you will be missing some in between.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    #10 neven, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
  11. David_Cambridge

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    30
    You are correct. I am wrong. I looked more carefully at the shots I had joined, and there are missing frames.
     
  12. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    I hope I didn't ruin it for you now :)
     
  13. David_Cambridge

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    30
    Nope. Thanks for the consideration. I have worked out a set-effective workaround using Resolve 12.5. If you put a 2 frame freeze on the end of the outgoing shot, and a 2 frame freeze on the head of the incoming shot, and bridge all 4 freeze frames with the Resolve smart cut, you can markedly reduce the impact of the jump cut. The Resolve Smart Cut creates a morph dissolve between the frames, and the added 4 frames to it come close to matching the time interval missing, so the motion timing appears almost intact.
     
  14. Jayfdee

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Morecambe Bay UK
    OK I learned something new today, thanks. Always wondered why this happened to me. However, I rarely make a video of 10 mins plus, I usually make a composite of the flight, with only the best bits, only the pilot has the patience to watch 10 mins of the flight.
     
  15. David_Cambridge

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    30
    That is a good idea. Editing always makes the piece better. The problem becomes important when the break occurs in the middle of a shot you want to use
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Litchi app phantom Forum Date
Litchi app for phantom 4 Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Sunday at 4:21 PM
Problem with Litchi App on Phantom 3 Pro Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 2, 2017
LITCHI app Phantom 3 Standard warning... what to do if it happens?! Standard/4k Discussion Jul 21, 2016
Litchi app phantom 3 adv Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 18, 2016
Controller of Phantom 3 Standard in F mode in Litchi application controles by the channel 2.4 Ghz. Standard/4k Discussion Jul 8, 2016