Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi Andriod questions

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by anttler, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. anttler

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I downloaded Litchi for my P3P and have a few questions in anyone has used it.

    1. Is there a way to use this with the DJI GO app installed on my phone if I am running Andriod 6? I now the app when downloaded says you can't, but is there a work around?

    2. Does anyone know if the fly away rate is higher using this app over the DJI Go app?

    3. Any "gotchas" in the application people have found.

    Looks to be a better way to run autonomous video captures over the Go app.
     
  2. DownUnder

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    1. Yes, works fine for me
    2. Same
    3. None
     
  3. Vichian-Bruno

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Thailand
    You did not mention the device you're using, there are problems with Litchi in connection with Android 6, see her as well:

    Litchi on Android 6.0.1

     
  4. Mocho

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Re: the Android Vr.
    Be VERY careful when using the way points screen on your tablet, it's stupid easy to change your mission inadvertently. I have no idea why the author doesn't lock the screen once the mission is entered or uploaded.
    Today I uploaded a mission, checked it a few times again and went to start the motors and noticed a way point added out into no mans land! I had been paying attention as I knew this was a watch out for, yet I still managed to somehow accidentally change my mission.So while your manipulating the map size you might accidentally add a couple way points. I had the map zoomed out so I noticed the error right away but if I hadn't I would have taken off with that error.
    It is my opinion the way point function in Litchi is too hazardous to use in its current configuration.
     
  5. Vichian-Bruno

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Thailand
    Agree with you, this is definitely a weak point in Litchi, hope the developers will add a lock and edit function to the application, would be an improvement for sure.
    Upload should only be possible if mission is locked to avoid the problem of adding way points.
     
  6. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I love Litchi dearly, but I very much agree with the two above posters that it's way too easy to accidentally add a waypoint.
     
  7. Tim harris

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    My first time out with the Litchi app yesterday, I made 3 missions, but once out in the field it was too easy to add a waypoint by accident, I ended up exiting the program a couple of times because of this
     
  8. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    I have a habit of loading the Litchi mission, then immediately start it. If in doubt, I re-load the mission.

    Also, when building missions, I re-save it many times so if a sloppy finger adds extra waypoints I can re-load the mission and continue where I left.

    And after saving the mission, I re-load it and triple-check everything.

    But yes, it would be nice if a mission could be locked and if there was an undo.
     
  9. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Adding waypoints or POI's can only happen in waypoint mode. In FPV mode the mission is locked.
    If you then switch to waypoint mode (, load a mission) and check it before launching, I do not see how you could have problems with accidental added waypoints.
     
  10. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    It's very easy to add a waypoint just by not have your finger exactly centered over load mission button.