Limp gimbal

Reaction score
I'm new to drones and still learning all the terminology ect. My Phantom 3 standard,model W321, has no video streaming and the vision gimbal hangs limp, it seems a very common complaint. I've watch a hundred video's and searched all over, to no avail…… when it comes to real troubleshooting. I have a simple 8 pin ribbon cable going from the body of the craft to the gimbal/camera. Looking all over, I'm still not sure what the difference between a vision and a vision + is?

While all all these video procedures are helpful, for someone with some troubleshooting experience and equipment, I can't even find a pinout for the 8 pin ribbon cable. Does anyone know about this, without guessing? This appears like a strategic point to start for troubleshooting.

Further, can u have one or two motors work on the three axis gimbal without all of them mal-functioning? E.g. does a bad flex cable kill all the gimbal motors?

Hiya,

What does the camera gimbal LED light do when you switch the aircraft on?

Considering that the gimbal is limp and their is no video from the camera it does seem to point to data/power connection from the Phantom 3 body.

Hiya,

What does the camera gimbal LED light do when you switch the aircraft on?

Considering that the gimbal is limp and their is no video from the camera it does seem to point to data/power connection from the Phantom 3 body.

With one caveat, it takes still pix through the App. In addition to the 8 conductor cable, there's a single gray and black wire also and I can't be sure which pin on the gimbal board they hook too. My kid gave me this thing with the wires off so I never see one hook up properly.

So what is the camera LED doing then?

When you take a picture with the app it should flash green.