Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

LG G3 and DJI Pilot for Android anyone?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by stinkeye, May 4, 2015.

  1. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm not having any success connecting, anyone have success using an LG G3 with the 1.1.0 version of the Pilot app for Android? Guess I'm waiting on iOS now too :(
     
  2. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I'll know tomorrow when my Phantom 3 arrives since I have a G3 I'm wanting to try out, too.
     
  3. Kasra A

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you enabled USB debugging in Settings menu?
     
  4. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm using an LG G2, no problems. Just make sure to turn on USB debugging and set your USB connection to (PTP) when plugging in.
     
  5. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    I turned on USB debugging, but I never saw the registration page that many users are reporting they had to get into before it would connect. The lights are flashing green on the P3 and the light is green on the RC, but I can't calibrate compass or connect.
    Tried uninstalling, reinstalling, turned off USB debugging, turned it back on again, downloaded the 1.1 version of the app from DJI's site, still nothing. I've done everything except update the firmware. Should I give that a go?
     
  6. Kasra A

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'd upgrade the firmware if I were you. It's a pretty straight forward procedure anyways, and it doesn't require the app at all.
     
  7. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'll give it a shot...thx!
     
  8. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    Where did you get your Android app? From the Play Store or the DJI website?
     
  9. Kasra A

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's not listed on Google play yet. You can get the direct link on DJI website.

    Direct Link: http://m.dji.net/djipilot
     
  10. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    Originally I tried 1.0.1 from the Play store, then when that didn't work I grabbed 1.1.0 from DJI's site. No luck with either at the moment.
     
  11. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    My bad, just saw you have 1.1.0. When you plug you phone into the controller make sure the USB plug is all the way in the controller. Are you selecting PTP as your USB connection?
     
  12. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    That may be the only setting I haven't seen? Where is that if I may ask?
     
  13. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    I power on my controller with the phone unplugged. When I plug my phone into the controller I get a notification on the phone what sort of USB PC connection I want. Charge Phone, Media Sync (MTP) or Send Images (PTP). Look in your notifications to see if anything like that is in there. I'm using Android 5.
     
  14. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    That was it! Thank you so much! Was missing that in my notification bar!
     
  15. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    Cool, you should be good to go!
     
  16. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    I really am not as stupid as I sound, but now I'm getting, "please activate the aircraft" when I swipe to takeoff. Compass is calibrated, like 17 satellites are locked. This has got to be something simple I'm missing somewhere in the app?!?
     
  17. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try going into the User Center from the main menu and log into your DJI Account or create one.
     
  18. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    i have an account, but I'm seeing where folks have said they had to link their serial number to their account. I haven't had to do that. Did it get skipped in the install of the app, I wonder?
     
  19. stinkeye

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    12
    I see where they emailed me a link to confirm my account, but that link is giving me a 403 forbidden error. What the hell?!?
     
  20. mimako

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9
    I can't remember. I think once your logged into you DJI account in the app it creates your profile and activates. I did it with the Inspire app because I received my P3 last Wednesday and that's all that was available then.