Let's hear from long term flyers - how to stay flying

Reaction score
As usual, any public forum will always attract attention from those with negative experiences. I'd love to hear from those who have owned a Phantom 2 for months (if not years) without issue. Tell me about your experiences. I've been flying for about 6 months without issue (except for a VRS at 10 metres), but I always feel nervous after reading the unfortunate fly-away stories.

I figure, as with any flying machine, pre-flight checks and ongoing maintenance are necessary for any sort of ongoing safe flying. After all the failure of only a single motor, prop or ESC will cause your machine to come tumbling down from whatever height it is operating. Other than the documented pre-flights, what ongoing maintenance and checks do you need to perform to avoid a catastrophic failure?

Flying V+ since April 2014.
Flying a P2 ser 2 since Nov 2014.
All Catch landings.
No crashes.

Every time I drain battery (20 flights or so), I open her up and inspect.
I also turn her upside down and turn props by hand to see if there is debri in the motors - don't use air compressor to remove as it may lodge it in further.
I make sure all the props and motors move with the same resistance by feel.
I inspect the props and make sure it has not been compromised.
I inspect battery - check for puffiness.
I do regular IMU adv calibrations correctly without the MC temp warnings (IMHO - more important than compass calibration)
I do regular Transmitter checks.
I make sure I always have visual contact of the bird and I try my best to always fly her back instead of relying on autopilot.
And I read here regularly.