Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Lets collaborate on how to fix a P3P gimbal/camera

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by gr8pics, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. gr8pics

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    So heres the thing,
    After last fw update, my P3P camera live feed stopped working, and update logfile tells me that it cannot connect or find device, therefore every update fails.
    Camera and gimbal is physically working fine, it moves as it should, and takes records photos, but ill have to put the memory card into a comp to view them.
    When using app i get no connection message on top, but that could also be due to unfinished fw update.
    Actually everything here can be caused by the unsuccessful update, but as long as the log tells me it cannot connect with device, i have to work on connection theories here.

    First up is the flat ribbon cable, if its damaged, then gimbal shouldnt work properly, or be able to take pics, so...
    Whats next, gimbal mainboard?
    Or any other smart theories, or even better, anyone else with similar problem that fixed it?
     
    Ted4797 likes this.
  2. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    I am interested in this thread. I will be watching from afar
     
  3. gr8pics

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    still watching I worry about all these updating.
     
    omarkatwe likes this.
  5. gr8pics

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, so no one then...
     
  6. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Gimbal initializes correctly & I assume you can manually take a photo, but as far as the Phantom is concerned the camera/gimbal it isn't connected? You are doing an update from the app or by installing a card with update BIN in the gimbal?

     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    How long is your IMU warm up times??
     
  8. Gary Rather

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you update both the controller and the aircraft. They need to both be done
    When I got my PSA at Christmas I was having trouble until I got updated controller and aircraft update
     
  9. gr8pics

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    I updated with sd card, two different ones, both formated in phantom.

    Yes, update log tells me that its not connected, or cannot find device, thats why update never succeed or finish properly
     
  10. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    So the Phantom is reading the SD card & attempting to update? Are the connectors in the gimbal securely connected? Has the aircraft been crashed where something may have been knocked loose?

     
  11. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    One of the two white ribbon cables at the very top of the gimbal loose?
     
  12. gr8pics

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, update starts, and fails after about 10 mins.
    White cables are okay, tried to move gimbal over to a brand new Advance and executed a pro fw update on that, also with the Adv white cables, still the same problem, that means the problem is somewhere after the white cable connectors and om the gimbal site
     
  13. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Sounds like you've made the right tests & isolated it to the gimbal. I don't know what else to do except to replace the defective gimbal. Is it under warranty?