Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Less range since update?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by mavrik33, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. mavrik33

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke Virginia
    Ive noticed less range since that latest update and it loses signal strength then it gets strong again. any ideas or is t his the update?
     
  2. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    I didn't update because I feared they would reduce range intentionally to match the performance of the P4.. Then I thought no way.. I'm betting it is just environment.
     
  3. mavrik33

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke Virginia
    I keep getting out so far and losing signal and regaining it like shown in pic
     

    Attached Files:

  4. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    745
    Location:
    Australia
    I was having downlink issues after latest firmware flash. In my case I found the go app was on a fixed channel.

    I reset to auto and no issues since.
     
  5. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Sometimes I've found there's no reason to losing the link even where, as in my case, I've been honing my skills in the same place for almost a month. Nothing different, just happens.
     
  6. mavrik33

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke Virginia
    Thanks fellas
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    745
    Location:
    Australia
    One other suggestion, you could reduce your downlink data rate if it is currently at a higher setting.
     
  8. Ohno16

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I posted this in another thread but minutes after my new upgrades finished I flew further than I've ever been. Stock P3P to 11,380 feet. Previous best was right at 10K.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. mavrik33

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke Virginia
    Well i did notice my antennas on the radio were incorrect and i moved them and it helped
     
  10. mavrik33

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Roanoke Virginia
    Wow 11,380 ft. I took her out to 5600 ft with a full signal. 11,380 ft is a long way. Was the area around you totally flat with no trees?
     
  11. Ohno16

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not flat at all but this particular spot near my house I have great line of sight. Can probably see for 4 to 5 miles.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Ohno16

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    A few times I had weak image transmission signals but it always cleared right up. It seemed to almost stop at one point and wouldn't let me push it further I'll have to check my distance settings. At that same point I got a 'collision warning' which I had never seen before.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    I have the same issue. Since the update I cannot get past 1600 meters. I used to go 3500 plus meters before the update. The only other thing I can think of is it has been cloudy here since that time also. Not sure it has been cloudy the whole time but pretty sure it has been. Hard to believe clouds can cut my range by more than half. I fly in the same place as before. Anyone else?
     
  14. Shield2160

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Freeport NY
    I used to be able to go out over 9K now I'm lucky to get out 6K. This is flying in an open area with no signal interference. I don't get it.
     
  15. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    DJI is encrypting the signal with the new updates. So the same signal takes more bandwidth.

    As the P3 goes further out the available bandwidth decreases.
     
  16. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This can happen from a number of thing like Interference. Getting behind something like a tree. A change in altitude.
     
  17. Shield2160

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Freeport NY
    I tried that and it really helped. I increased my distance by more then 25%. Thanks
     
  18. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    When you say 9k, do you mean feet or meters? I have trouble getting 3000 meters in my area. I am in a very congested area but have noticed a significant reduction in distance in the last 2-3 months.
     
  19. RocketBrew

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Arizona
    Remove all those green thingies from all the trees in your flight path that weren't there 2-3 months ago.
    We don't have that problem in the desert!
     
  20. SGs

    SGs

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Seattle

    Can you explain where and how to do this, I searched the forum and looked around for a long time on the DJI Go app and couldn't find this setting.