Lens Flare anyone?

Reaction score
New to the Forums. Little about me:

Had my PV2+ for 2 weeks or so now, 20+ flights.
Haven't gone above 400' or further than 1000' (i'm old school trained in the ways of 'never lose sight of your craft')
pushing the comfort zone further each time.

couple questions and comments I'd like you all to chime in on:

1) during sunsets, looking at the sun, I get a terrible GREEN lens flare? Anyone else experience this?
2)Night video is terrible. Appears as if there is a 'screen' infront of the lens. Not a very clear picture to say the least. I've seen a few youtube vids that have a similar effect, just curious if this is common.
3) any advice for flying over the ocean? I haven't had the balls to do it yet due to all the horror stories i've read so far.

I am an experienced pilot and can fly well without full GPS lock, but these "FLY AWAYS" moments, are the PV2+ just completely non-responsive to the radio? Haven't had one yet, hope I don't anytime soon.

Thanks Everyone!

Hi & Welcome.

1) Don't point a camera at the sun, ever. It can easily damage or destroy the CCD sensor. You might consider getting a UV filter for the lens. A couple of people sell adapters for them.
2) The camera is not high enough quality for really dark shooting. The grain you are seeing is as a result of the camera trying to bump up the ISO to compensate for the lack of light.
3) Good luck. No real advice for this, except to be sure you follow your pre-flight checklist. Make sure everything is calibrated, make sure you lock in your home position.

Most flyaways that we hear of here, people report losing complete control. The bird just takes off or dives. It seems pretty terrifying. I've upgraded my antennas in hopes of avoiding this, but there is no real proof that this will even help.

The most of the flyaways are pilot error.
What i noticed is that when you go in a full decent on the left stick the bird doesn't respond to other commands. So watch out for that.