Legal flying

Reaction score
Has anyone encountered any problems with legalities in flying your drones, especially in light of the fact that flying drones falls into a legal gray area?

Well, there's "two" legals here, the FAA and the local gendarmes. Here's the FAAs recommended guidelines (guidelines, not laws). So long as you are operating as a hobbyist for fun, you are good to go, follow the guidelines and you'll stay out of trouble.
As far as local cops, that's a toss up. Some will get huffy even when there is no local ordinance to enforce. Find out if your city or county has any regulations on drones and parks, etc. Stay away from people and highways. I'm a retired cop, if you are nice to them you may make a friend, most don't know anything about your aircraft, take the opportunity to educate them. If a civilian gets in your face with the "are you spying on me?" BS, best to shutdown and find another area to fly in.

If you want to make money with your drone then you must have a pilot license and file a 333 exemption (if you want to do it legally).
Fellows, any more tips?

How is flying a drone legally in a "grey area"?

If you are asking is an law enforcement agency has had an issue with drones then you've never done a Google or Youtube search on the matter.

Driving a car is legal if you have a license, drones may not be.
It's difficult to comment because you give no specific details.
In most of the world it is completely legal to fly your drone but there may be rules about where or how you fly it - the same as driving a car.

I guess it's because I've heard that a lot of people don't like the idea of drones flying around because of what they've heard about them. I enjoy them as a hobby, but maybe someday I may want to fly one for commercial purposes.