Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Led Green and yellow - what does it mean?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by baiaz, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey

    Very new to Phantom 2 Vision plus - and today when I was outside this is whats happening:

    I calibrated my Phantom and it all light up green... then I started to fly - and it was some wind - not that much. Suddely the phantom did not respond to the gps and drifted away. then I lost contact with my iphone and the phantom. then when I got it down - I saw that the led was blinking slowly green for like 5 or six times. Then it started to blink green again.

    So what can it be?
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,213
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I know this is not the response you want but you seriously should read the manual and learn like most did that would be able to answer your question. Besides, the more you know about the phantom the more fun you'll have with it.
     
  3. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the reply.

    You see... I did a search ... on the pdf... but could not find what was my issue... but I will give it a try again.. thanks
     
  4. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    You did not mention in the detail where the "yellow" came in, or if you were flying in Phantom or NAZA mode? What position was S1 in? If you were in NAZA mode and seeing flashing yellow, then you were in ATTI mode, which would explain why it drifted with the wind. I do advise that you study the little card that came attached to the controller, as it is important for you to know what the status LEDs are telling you. It could save your $1300 aircraft!
     
  5. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmm thanks ...

    The S1 was down - but I thought that did not matter if you did not do anything to the phantom that it always was in GPS even if it was switched down? hmmm I guess I have to study more ... again.. thanks... I will do that tonight!
     
  6. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    If S1 was down (in Phantom mode), then you were in ATTI mode and altitude-locked only. It would be perfectly understandable why she was drifting with the wind. S1 needs to be UP to be in GPS mode, where both altitude & position are locked.
     
  7. Double-D

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Land Down Under
    I don't think that's right.
    In phantom mode there is no ATTI mode selectable. If less then 6 satellites are found it will fly in ready to fly mode (non gps) which is basically the same as ATTI and lights will flash yellow.
    To override failsafe you switch S1 to any other position and can stay in that position and it will return to full gps mode. The manual even shows switching from position 2 to position 3 to regain control from failsafe.
    Sounds like it simply fell below 6 satellites.

    Correct me if I'm wrong. You are way more knowledgeable than I am.
     
  8. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thing is that the switch (S1) was DOWN... and I thought that you had to do something to the software to fly in a non-gps mode... I guess I was wrong...
     
  9. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    In Phantom mode, with S1 in either of the lower positions, you are essentially in ATTI mode. Your Phantom will hold its altitude but she has no positional lock and will drift with the wind. As part of your preflight checklist, its a good idea to always have BOTH switches in the UP position before lifting off.
     
  10. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for clearifying that for me. ;)
     
  11. baiaz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that now and I think that you are right... but now there was NO wind.. but it was more steady! Thanks