Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Learning to fly in manual mode

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by edonovanl, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    Tried manual for the first time yesterday and it took me all of 10 seconds to land hard and flip my P2V+V3! I want to learn to fly manual and have been practicing with a Syma X5 but it's not the same. I could remove the gimbal while I learn but am also considering a second P2 to practice with. I can't find a 5.8ghz controlled P2 without a camera but wouldn't mind outfitting it with an aftermarket transmitter and upgraded controller.

    What would be the best option from the Phantom line of quads?
     
  2. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    For learning Manual Mode any small quad but aproaching to real world ... Phantom V1, just U$399
     
  3. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I have always read in here to get up around 100' in GPS mode and then flip it to manual to learn .
     
  4. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    That's a good idea.....altitude is money in the bank. I still like the idea of a practice drone....
     
  5. jumanoc

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    8
    My 3 Manual Mode flights were over a big 30 cm grass field ;) 2 great soft landings :lol:
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Would be nice to have a spare but if you a little high and lose control ya can always just go back into GPS and save it :D
    Maybe :(
     
  7. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Most say to remove camera before trying manual. If not you are gonna have to pay to replace camera & Gimble :eek:
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Yup, altitude is the key... leave time to just 'flip' back to Atti. or GPS Atti.?
     
  9. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Wonder if the Inspire has manual mode :shock:
    Naaaa
     

    Attached Files:

  10. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    I flew my first week with the gimbal/camera removed - takes 30 seconds to remove and a few minutes to re-install. Many said bad idea since I lost the telemetry data, but it worked for me. I wasn't interested in telemetry, just learning to fly...

    What I would really like is to figure out how to cut power to the gimbal motors and fly with the gimbal lock installed so I could still get telemetry info, if that would work, or is even possible. Maybe I should go ahead and buy my second P2V+ now so I can practice with it, since apparently one or the other is going to fly away anyway! That way I'd still have one to fly....

    Maybe a used P2 so I can get an extra battery since my 3 batteries just aren't enough...
     
  11. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    I totally disagree! Do NOT fly while you are high! Or drunk, etc. :D
     
  12. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    In my opinion one would only start trying manual-mode after one masters the Att-mode for 100%.