Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    I think I should ask before tying.

    From what I assume, as soon as th P4 is flying, in P or S modes, it begins to hover using GPS above its launch location, until directed elsewhere by the controller.

    So, if I take off from a moving boat, will the Phantom immediately try to "hover" and the boat will move out from under it? Shooting towards aft (rear) of the boat?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,815
    Likes Received:
    5,540
    Location:
    US
    Yes.
     
  3. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I'm not sure how well the aircraft will initialize while in motion but as stated above if you launch while it's moving it's going to stabilize (or try to) on that specific location. I've landed on a moving boat but only launched from a stationary boat.
     
    Drestin Black likes this.
  4. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    So Glad I asked!! Thanks
     
  5. deltamike

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Shropshire (UK)
    I might add that the compass might be affected by nearby metal objects so that's something to be aware of if its anything like the P3.

    To those in the know, am I correct?
     
  6. Vasekp

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    CZ
    Started few times from a 12m fishing boat and had to find place whre the compass wasnt affected. Worked well then.
     
  7. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    The boat I was on that I shot this (my 5th flight ever) is 54 feet long and two levels, and had 8 large speakers on it at all corners blasting at full volume. I was able to take off from almost any surface. I caught it on landings. No Audio because got tired of fighting YouTube over copyrighted material. Going to have him stop before launching then do some Active Track shots after, and expect to just catch by hand for landing.
     
  8. Technodynamic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    18
    what if you put the drone on a moving conveyor belt? While moving at 50mph you take off?
     
  9. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    It should lift and full brakes to hover in air. You'd have to be in sport mode with a little help from a tail or head wind lol
     
  10. Technodynamic

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    18
    Remember the internet discussions from almost 10 years ago about a plan taking off on a conveyor belt... as the plane moves forward, the belt moves 'magically' in the opposite direction. Would the plant ever be able to take off? lol
     
  11. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    156
  12. Flatwoods

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    8
    Here's what I learned the hard way from boat launches. Launches were done from bow of 36' trawler moving relatively slow - 10mph or so. Had some successive and one massive failure.

    1. It's a helluva rush and you can get some great marsh shots that are not obtainable from a land based launch.
    2. Compass calibration can be tricky with railings, pump motors, and very big chunk of steel in the engine compartment.
    2. After launch the boat continues to moves forward. Drone Stays put trailing in the boat's wake at relatively low altitude.
    Until...
    3. Controller was blocked by pilot house and connectivity was lost. Auto RTH initiated to a very wet home point. Splash.

    What an idiot.
     
    WilsonFlyer likes this.
  13. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Ignore all the distracting issues with belt directions etc. If the plane is moving forward fast enough to reach take off AIRSPEED the plane will fly.
     
    WilsonFlyer likes this.
  14. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Great video but one question:
    How do you set a home point that is NOT automatically reset whenever you change batteries or restart the unit or app. Everyone I connect the drone, it reports home point updated.
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,815
    Likes Received:
    5,540
    Location:
    US
    The home point is always reset when you start up your Phantom. After that point, you can manually reset the home point at the top of the "Main Controller Settings" section of DJI GO. You'll see options to set the home point to the Phantom's current location or your current location. The latter requires a GPS receiver on your mobile device.
     
    KevMo Photog and WilsonFlyer like this.
  16. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    So, what they suggest in the video won't work?
     
  17. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    156
    You cannot set a home point where the quad will not land in an emergency. That was my take-away. Home points over the top of water are foolish, no matter what you quad may be sitting on at the time. Again, that was my take-away.
     
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,815
    Likes Received:
    5,540
    Location:
    US
    I'm not sure which part of the video you're referring to. Keep in mind they are talking about a Phantom 2.
     
  19. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    The prime suggestion they had was to set a home position somewhere on land, make sure to take off even for just a moment "to lock home in" and then if, on subsequent flights it returns to home automatically it would go to that point on land.
    But, apparently, current versions of the Go app set the home point every time it powers up


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  20. Foosy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    93
    Wasn't my read.
    I thought the prime suggestion was to get a bikini model...