Landing into the wind

Reaction score
As a regular pilot, I was taught to land into the wind. I have noticed that control is a bit better when approaching the landing spot into the wind. Also a little foreword speed keeps you out of some of the turbulence of ground effect.

usaken said:
As a regular pilot, I was taught to land into the wind. I have noticed that control is a bit better when approaching the landing spot into the wind. Also a little foreword speed keeps you out of some of the turbulence of ground effect.

Interesting question. I can understand the reason a fixed-wing aircraft would land into the wind, but a quadcopter? I do try to have some forward movement as it approaches the ground as it does create a bit of turbulence, also choosing the most level spot to land

Makes me thing of something interesting. Can you picture a P2V with wheels and come in for a "landing" like a real plane? Not really as fast......

Helos land into the wind whenever possible. You have to thing about what is actually happening during a landing In the case of landing into the wind, the autopilot is just trying to add enough power to overcome the force pushing it back. This back force is actually decreasing ground speed. In the case of an downwind landing the quad is actually adding double the power to slow down. In northerly approach with a 2 knot wind from the north, the quad only has to add 2 knots of speed to stop. In a southerly approach the quad has to add 4 knots to stop. I have noticed that upwind landings are always easier to control. I use a 3' wood dowell with a 12" piece of cassette tape on he top, located about 6 feet from my landing area. The tape gives you an indication of both the direction and speed of the wind. I sharpened the end if the dowel to stick it into the ground. Happy flying

If I think it's a little to windy to land, I try and go behind a house or a bush...it works.