Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Landing Gear/Compass replacement

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Jdbik2, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. Jdbik2

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi All,

    I had a minor crash into a tree which left only the landing gear with the compass slightly damaged. I was wondering if it is possible to replace this landing gear? The issue seems to be that the wire from the shell to the compass is fixed in place very well. Is it possible to remove the plastic housing around the compass on the landing gear as this in preventing me from removing the damaged landing gear?

    Thank you very much
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,035
    Likes Received:
    5,606
    Location:
    US
    Jdbik2 likes this.
  3. Jdbik2

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. gray819

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you replace the landing skids with the compass is there any additional calibrating that needs doing or can you just plug and play with it. I assume all you need to do is the normal compass calibration before flying. Is tha the case? thanks
     
  5. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    I could be wrong, but I think what msinger meant to say was, you cannot buy a new compass without the landing gear.

    I just purchased a new compass from B&H Photo, and it came with the landing gear. I did not see an option to buy the compass only.

    Welcome to the party gray,

    I suggest you install the new compass/landing gear, go outside... away from any possible interference and perform the "Compass Dance" with enthusiasm. Then without subjecting your new compass to any possible contamination, connect to the NAZA assistant software.

    Go to the "TOOLS" tab and look at your "Compass (raw)" numbers.
    X, Y, and Z should be ZERO +- 300
    Mod should be 1600 +- 200

    Enjoy the show, and please look at my signature for some helpful links... it's below this line. :D