Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Just ordered my first phantom

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Apparition, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    Can't wait to get into this hobby, been researching for a while.

    I do have a question though has anybody had a fly away where the phantom just took off and flew away while in visible line of sight? I've read the guide on what to do if that happens but was just curious on how concerned I should be.
     
  2. Prowler

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    TEXAS
    yes fly away happens. I would not buy Phantom V2+ if u just starting to fly drones. Start with cheaper version. Learn to fly before getting V2+.
     
  3. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    I've had quads just not with a camera.
     
  4. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    62
    IF YOU JUST ORDERED A V+ it is just fine. Only be sure to do all the preflight steps and be sure how to fly it. First flights should be in an open field to learn its manners. Remember that in a V+ the gimbal-camera assembly is the weakest part and the most expensive to replace, avoid hard landings and learn to catch it that is better for the gimbal. Welcome and good luck.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    In most cases, this happens due to one of the following:

    - The pilot did not read and/or understand the DJI manual
    - The pilot took off before the Phantom was ready
    - The pilot did not calibrate the compass, IMU, and/or remote controller
    - Some other type of pilot error
     
  6. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    That was pretty much the conclusion I had come up with by reading the forums.
     
  7. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    Another question, is an inertia guard needed on the V3's?
     
  8. dalebb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    I would get one, the bird will take a hit but the camera won't.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    The Inertia Guard will not protect the camera. It is supposed to prevent the gimbal cable from ripping though.

    I have the Inertia Guard and it fits well and seems like it would do the job. There are some other options at the following link if you want to see the other gimbal protectors that are commonly used:

    http://www.PhantomHelp.com/#GimbalProtector