Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Just ordered me a P2...

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by kenjancef, Jul 23, 2015.

  1. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    So I gave in to the pressure (my own pressure....lol...) and got me a Phantom 2, with Zenmuse H4-3D. I CAN'T WAIT to get it!!!!

    Also, I just joined here about a week ago, and have seen some awesome threads, writing stuff down as I go. I'm new to drones, but have flown various smaller R/C stuff in the past, so I am thinking I can adapt to this fairly quickly. I have plenty of fields to practice in, and I assume that within the next month or so I'll be getting an extra battery... lol.

    Thanks in advance for all of the helpful posts, a lot of my questions have been answered. But I'm sure I'll have more questions as time goes by...!!!

    WEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Now you can expect to spend another $250-$350 for FPV equipment and then there are the batteries. Oh well money grows on trees.
     
  3. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    I can just hear the money flying away... I'm a photographer, so I know how it goes... lol
     
  4. go fast

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Miami Fl.
    This is still cheaper than drag racing :)
     
  5. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Nope.
    You can just do the simple mod to use the gopro and the zenmuse with the DJI app, and you only spend 8USD in a cable set.
    And you get a great bird less buggy than the P3 and with better camera :)
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    If you're thinking of using the GoPro's wifi you'd better think again as both the P2 and GoPro Use the same frequency .2.4Ghz
     
  7. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    Nope. the mod uses the birds wifi just like it would with the dji camera.
    In any other way it works like a P2V+ with original camera, and you control it by the DJI app...but you get a much better upgradable camera :)

    mod here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815&page=17
     
  8. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Looks interesting... but my bird is too new to be ripping it apart, even though id be comfortable doing it. I bookmarked the page and will probably look at it in a month or so.

    Thanks for posting that, appreciate it.
     
  9. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    LooL been there, done that. I too have a 30 days do-not-peek-inside rule on all the tech I buy :)
    I made this mod on a crashed PHantom, so I had no problem on opening it
     
  10. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Lol, yea, that helps... I still might do it though. Its cheaper than a full-out FPV, but a little scarier to get working... :)
     
  11. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    It looks way more complicated than it really is. And since you are only cutting cables, if you buy an extra set of cables, you can always go back if something goes wrong, just switch the cables.
     
  12. Casper2015

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, England
    That mod would only work with the P2 vision plus, I understand the OP is getting a Phantom 2 with Zenmuse Gimbal?
     
  13. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    No it not. In order to do what macsoft is doing you would have to change the P2's receiver from 2.4Ghz to 5.8Ghz then you'd have to buy a new 5.8Ghz RC unit a wifi extender and wifi unit. When all is said an done you it would cost you less for FPV system.
     
  14. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    True, i thought you had a Vision unit.
    It would be way cheaper for you to buy a Vision unit with a broken camera/gimbal, and do this mod.
     
  15. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    I was originally thinking of a Vision 2, but I already have a Hero 4 Black, and I have more uses for it than just on the Phantom, so for me it made sense to get the Non-Vision with the H4-3D. I know I lose a bunch of features, but being that I'm new to quads I didn't want to get over my head too quick. Hope that makes sense... :)
     
  16. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Why not offer him yours as the hard part is done.[​IMG] Or maybe a trade.
     
  17. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    I understand.
    If you had to do it again, you could buy a Vision 2 and sell the camera/gimbal for good money. Buy a gimbal and still saved a lot of money while having better image quality than a P3 :)
     
  18. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    LoL, nope, sorry :)
    this one stays with me. And there is no point on selling it in the future. Its just perfect for me :)
     
  19. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    It will cost you between $250-$350 for FPV system and you will have a better system then a vision+
     
  20. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Now you should take it one step further and change the GP's lens and get rid of that fisheye. Go with a peau productions 5.4mm f/2.5 lens I have it on mine works great.