Just how fragile is the phantom 3

Reaction score
got my phantom 3 standard about 3 weeks ago. Already have had 2 minor crashes. I am a careful operator. No damage.

Looking at the phantom with the exposed ribbon cable and the exposed wires and all is pretty alarming. It looks very fragile and does not inspire a lot of confidence. I have a gimbal protector. Just want to see what other people think. How fragile is this device and is there anything that you can do to physically protect it more. Sometimes even placing the lens cap/gimbal lock I feel I'm going to break the gimbal.

It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum. I hope that you will take advantage of the benefits that come with membership and that you will be able to use the forum for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Phantom quadcopter’s.

Unfortunately this is an expensive hobby and the quads are pretty susceptible in a crash as you might imagine. A lot of crashes will sever the ribbon cable if it is just so. The best way to prevent this is to learn everything there is to know about your bird and the TX. Better knowledge of the aircraft will make you a better operator. ;)

Reactions: jeganx
They are fragile like birds. Need to be built light to maxise performance and flight times. The trade off is durability unfortunately.

Looking at the phantom with the exposed ribbon cable and the exposed wires and all is pretty alarming. It looks very fragile and does not inspire a lot of confidence. I have a gimbal protector. Just want to see what other people think. How fragile is this device and is there anything that you can do to physically protect it more. Sometimes even placing the lens cap/gimbal lock I feel I'm going to break the gimbal.
Sometimes they can be damaged with a fall of just a few feet and other times they can survive a fall of 40 feet - you never can tell.

Practice-practice-practice.