Just got a DJI FC40

Reaction score
Hi all,

I just got a DJI from my sister for my birthday. I wasn't expecting such a nice gift from her although I myself thought of getting a drone of sorts not too long ago so it was a pleasant surprise.

I charged the battery and somewhat stupidly did a test flight off my dining room table. Other than a small dent in my drywall it was a nice flight (lesson is to wait for outside time).

Anyway, I'm an engineer and usually pretty good with gadets and the like, but must admit that the phantom is a bit overwhelming. The manual is lacking and the software seems somewhat confusing. Before I take this drone out tomorrow I was wondering if there is anything I should do or know about. Also any upgrades I should purchase at this time?

Thank you

Congrats on the awesome gift! I don't know why you are having difficulty comprehending the manual as I had no problem whatsoever. First thing you want to do is install the software and drivers to your computer, make sure everything is up-to-date and calibrated. You'll want to make sure you thoroughly understand the LED codes, the various control modes (assuming you enable NAZA mode), all of the controls, and how to reassume control should an RTH go into effect. You'll want to do these things BEFORE you actually fly.

Thanks for your reply. I guess there is just a lot of acronyms in the manual and since so much of it is new to me, I'm struggling a bit. I would love a bit more help about understanding the control modes and the RTH flight parameters. I don't see much information in the manual about it although there is quite a bit on the IOC function which I am ignoring for now. I watched a couple video on the LED messages, do you have a recommendation on where to learn more about the RTH setting? Also I did plug it into my computer and clicked the upgrade button, it now has what the software says it the latest firmware. As for enabling NAZA I am not sure I did that or know how to do that.