Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Just bought an Advanced. What firmware

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Tripc, Jan 18, 2016.

  1. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    Good day all. Waiting delivery of a new P3Advanced. I know it has the new motors and such but was wondering what firmware it might come with. It seems that the 1.3 firmware is the most liked. Which one should I stay away from. I heard the newest is a little janky
     
  2. Ken Hanks

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    34
    I have over 55 flights, 4 1/2 hrs and 19 miles with 1.6. No issues ☺
     
  3. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    1.5.0030 is the one you want to avoid. I don't have anywhere near 55 flights with 1.6.0040 but it is working fine for me.
     
  4. Ken Hanks

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    34
    My heath drone screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    My Advice is install the App to your device but DO NOT UPDATE before your first flights. Note what firmware is on your Advanced from the factory. Run an IMU calibration & RC calibration from the Go app. Make sure you are all read up & familiar with the aircraft & app controls & have your app set up properly. Perform a compass calibration at your fly site when you are ready to make your first flight.

    Pay close attention to how she performs during those initial flights so you have a basis for comparison should you chose to update later. Not sure what FW will be on your bird from the factory? If it is 1.3 or 1.4 you are good. If it comes with 1.5 you will want to get off of that version immediately. Were it me I would back up to 1.4. Only go to 1.6 if you are ready to accept the GEO annoyance & reduced performance to overcome battery issues of 1.5.
     
  6. Ken Hanks

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    34
    I'm not using my P3A drone for racing or acrobats and I think it performs just fine. Top speed 36mph. It doesn't shoot to the sky like a rocket, but it does climb and desent is slower.
     
  7. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thanks for the replys. I have an Inspire 1 and there latest firmware jacked with the battery settings in the cold just wanted to make sure it's not on the phantom also.