Just Bought a USED DJI Phantom 2 Vision.. Where to from here?

Reaction score
Greetings all,
While not a "New" pilot of RC's, finally decided to try the upper echelon of vertical flight with the added experience of video. My daughter is also into it, so it's good "Daddy-Daughter" time together. Got what seemed like a good deal on a USED DJI PHANTOM 2 Vision. Gave it a very thorough visual inspection, and all appears well at first glance.

Read the manual twice, and although I'm a Network Engineer, these things are definitely not without their operational overhead and care. My BIGGEST issue is I don't want to "BRICK" this thing out of the box, and now having spent about 10 hours of watching videos, reading blogs, calibration/firmware upgrade instructions, and firmware upgrade horror stories, etc. I STILL am leery about even attaching my DJI Phantom or even firing the **** thing up.

It came minus a set of props (extras where still in the bag) which tells me this "Open Box Return" was probably very quickly crashed and then returned. I wanted to confirm the firmware on the Flight Unit, Camera, RC Controller, and Range Extender, but everything I read says first "Don't connect until Upgrade is Finished", so I can't simply just "hook it up and check", or can I? If so, is there a proper way to disconnect once you have done so?

Additionally, not knowing the firmware, should I just download the latest Assistant Driver and Software and let her rip? I have read a LOT of complaints about folks who, not necessarily wanting to contstantly violate the Fliight Vision Rules or Altitude limitations would still like to have the capabilities to go beyond if the need ever arose.

So I don't know but have downloaded every version of Assistant Software I have been able to get my hands on, as well as the RC Software, and the Droid .apk softare versions.