Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ITElite DBS Mod Not easy!!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FatTwoTonTony, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. FatTwoTonTony

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Newfoundland
    I just finished the install of my new DBS Mod and it was challenging to say the least. From start to finish I was a little under an hour. It was successful but lets say I may of lost weight as I was sweating through many stages. I can see now the reason why many are damaging the ribbon cable is not just from getting it out or getting it back in the slot but the hard part is getting it back in position through the slot back to the board it fits into . I will admit I was shocked to see the size of the ribbon cable and I can see now that strictly using your fingers(I wear latex gloves) will not work with these ribbon cable as they are too small. As I said in other posts I am a computer support specialist and have been working on computers for almost 20 years and installing or replacing a ribbon cable is far from a new event for me. This is a challenging install and the amount of things that can go wrong are many. My suggestion to anyone who is not 100% into this sort of thing is send your remote to DBS or I think you will likely be out the cost of a new remote. In hindsight I would've sent mine to them even though all appears to be working fine.
     
  2. Erik Somoroff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Island Pond , Vermont
    This is an easy task if you are experienced with electronics .If not,it is best to either go SLOW or pay someone to do it. All it takes is a torn cable............
     
  3. FatTwoTonTony

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Newfoundland
    Totally agree Erik hence the almost an hour it took me lol
     
    Rock Shelter and Erik Somoroff like this.
  4. Erik Somoroff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Island Pond , Vermont
    BUT...........on the Bright side...........Wicked nice range now..........For me, I't about Tree interference.........not going 5 miles away.............I am very happy with the purchase and it's performance
     
    Mike Mauk, phantom13flyer and Farmer like this.
  5. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    +1

    I agree with above
     
    Erik Somoroff likes this.
  6. FatTwoTonTony

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Newfoundland
    I agree but I will test the range as well without the heavy trees and hills but main reason for install was the heavy trees around here. Too wet to fly today but soon i hope
     
    Erik Somoroff likes this.
  7. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    i did mine and it works fine.
    yes there are ribbons there that could cause a problem.
     
  8. FatTwoTonTony

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Newfoundland
  9. Erik Somoroff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Island Pond , Vermont
    Nice Job ! ! I see you left the old ones on....I made some caps from some ⅜" Hole Plugs :) .........Nice here today...........Off to fly :) IMG_8321.JPG
     
    Fplvert likes this.
  10. dedstik

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    115
    I found that if you loosen the three screws holding down the coms board it will allow the board to float up a little and that makes the re-insertion of the large ribbon cable a little easier. WMWV.
     
    D4T_PoM and Erik Somoroff like this.
  11. coherent

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Arizona, USA
    For those with a 3d printer, I designed some plugs that snap in the same as the antennas did. I posted them on thingiverse. They fit nice and snug and look like the RC was made with them. Help yourself to the stl file
    DJI Phantom 3 RC Antenna Hole Plug by Marcnaz
    [​IMG]
     
    D4T_PoM and Erik Somoroff like this.
  12. Erik Somoroff

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Island Pond , Vermont
    Nice Job............3D Printer is Next.........So many great uses............What kind are you using ?? any tips for someone new to 3D Printing ?
     
    Mike Mauk likes this.
  13. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Also recommend upgrading the outside cable to a thicker rg402 coaxial cables . You can find them on eBay for just a few bucks.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    I can't find them on ebay UK :(
     
  15. BlueVolt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater Seattle Are
    I just received my upgraded cables today from an address close to where my P3A was shipped from. Ive had the DBS upgrade for a few weeks( install was a breeze, hardest part for me was getting the ribbon cable fished back up the back of the tx & case closed smoothly) with great results & hated those longer cables. The 4" cables are perfect length & feel & look 100x better than the included 10" cables. Hoping for even less db loss with the shorter cables. Couldn't one expect better results without the connection point from outside the tx to inside. Every transition or connection point is a place for db loss correct?


    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442088108.491536.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1442088132.884755.jpg
     
    Andy Thomas and phantom13flyer like this.
  16. BlueVolt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater Seattle Are
    Also I purchased both 4" & 6" versions of the upgraded cables because I had read some saying 4 were better & some 6... 4" are the perfect fit with no excess hanging loosely or getting in the way
     
  17. DJi Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    link to seller please?
     
  18. BlueVolt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater Seattle Are
  19. BlueVolt

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Greater Seattle Are
    gotfine on eBay

    This is the seller I used. About $17 for 2 - 4" cables & 2 - 6" cables shipped to WA state
     
  20. DJi Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7