Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Issues with youtube

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Monte55, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I did a video about a week ago shot at 1080 30 fps and youtube shows the highest quality at 360.

    Today I did another one shot at 1080 at 30 fps and youtube shows the best at 720. What's up?
    . Do you see better settings available ? .
     
  2. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    both played at 1080p for me, click on the icon to left of word youtube at bottom right

    shows 720p and 1080p
     
  3. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    It may be my browser. I tried with Internet Explorer and I can see 720 but not 1080 . I can see 1080 on videos I have done in the past. Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Chris0137

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    17
    Both your vids are 1080P on my browser (Using Google Chrome)
     
  5. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    1,159
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Firefox wanted to play it in auto 480 but when I manually switched to 1080 it worked fine
     
  6. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    in safari i see this.

    Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 14.10.25.png
     
  7. Kiel Allen

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    It takes time for youtube to upload it to HD. So usually it first loads in low quality, then you come back and it's in HD.
     
  8. N42742

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Atlanta
    YouTube does something called adaptive bitrate streaming. This throttles the throughput (changing the resolution and bitrate on the fly) during viewing based on how fast the video is being rendered o the viewer's screen. If you have a slow connect, it may spend a lot of time showing the video at less than HD. Someone with a really fast connect and plenty of bandwidth would see your video at 1080. Someone else with a slower connection might see it at 360.
     
  9. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    Mine does not show me those options. The window pops up when I click on the gear icon thing and it shows 360. One thing says missing options. I click on that and another large window opens stating some youtube quality settings may not be available and lists versions of browsers that should work. I don't know about that kind of stuff. I normally use aol. If I use IE ican get better quality settings. Up to 720. But if I look at a video I shot at 1080 and uploaded in May, I can see it in 1080. Makes no sense to me.
     
  10. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I do understand that part but I waited a week and nothing changed.
     
    Kiel Allen likes this.
  11. N42742

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Do you know what bitrate you used when you edited the final video? For 1080, it probably needs to be 10mbs or better. But there is a tradeoff. Videos with higher bitrates are larger (in terms of filesize). The higher the quality, the slower the stream.
     
  12. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    YT will _start_ playing the video at a lower resolution if a person's connection is slow but the highest resolution is always available as a choice.
     
  13. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I know nothing about bitrate. I don't edit the videos. Just upload them.
     
  14. Ronny

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok all I have the same issue I recorded 1080 p and youtube is showing 480 ??????
     
  15. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    The resolution depends on few things.
    When you first upload yt processes the file in multiple resolutions, 480 first then higher over a short time. If you look after its first uploaded you will only see 480.

    Secondly it knows your connection speed and adjusts automatically , so if you have poor connection you will only get low res,
     
  16. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    1,159
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    If it's blurry, often you can manually choose 1080 HD in the lower right corner and it will sharpen right up