Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Issues updating P3 Pro transmitter

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by hs748quad, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello!

    Did the firmware updates for the drone and battery. When I do the updates for the TX ( via the GO app), it states the TX was updated, but when I reboot the transmitter, I still get the message saying I need to update the transmitter. Or, I sometimes get a message saying "RC signal lost", then if I power off/on the transmitter, I will then again get the message saying to update the transmitter?

    The Go App is trying to update the transmitter software to V1.6.0, but not sure of that is actually the latest software version for the transmitter?

    Thanks,
    Jarrett
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    1.6 is the current firmware version for the remote controller.

    How exactly do you power everything on?
     
  3. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same way I have been for the last 6 months. Tx first, app, the drone.

    Tried tx, drone, app, but still get the message that I need to update the tx firmware, even though it states the tx firmware was updated???
     

    Attached Files:

  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    Try reinstalling DJI GO.
     
  5. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thx, I'll try reinstalling the ap later today.
    It's weird that the update for the controller said it is compete, but the update doesn't seem to take?

    Maybe I am doing something wrong in the sequence of "rebooting" the transmitter???
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    I don't think the issue has anything to do with the rebooting sequence. Let's see if reinstalling DJI GO fixes it. If not, we can go from there.
     
  7. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is what I just tried after re-installing the DJI app:

    - Power on the TX
    - Power on the drone
    - open DJI GO app

    Get a message " R/C signal lost"

    Power off/on transmitter, get a Message " transmitter firmware update needed"

    Run update, it says " remote controller updated to the latest version 1.6.0 reboot your remote controller"
    (got the blue light on the tranmsitter, and the beeping, then green light...)
    I reboot remote, and it still says " Update Radio Firmware"
     
    #7 hs748quad, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    Did you try the above sequence after reinstalling DJI GO?
     
  9. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, that was after reinstalling the Dji go app
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    Which versions do you see in the About section of DJI GO?
     
  11. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    App version 2.8.7

    Remote controller version unknown
     
  12. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    Are you able to downgrade the remote controller firmware like this? If so, try that and then upgrade it again.
     
  14. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll give that a try.

    I also just tried this:
    I plugged the transmitter into my iphone, instead of my Ipad. When I went to settings, it initially said version 1.6.0 for the transmitter, but was still showing signal lost. Now it still says current version unknown!
     
  15. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was able to downgrade using that method, and now it all works! Thank you very much!!

    I think I will just leave the software as:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    That explains why your remote controller wouldn't connect too. The aircraft and remote controller firmware was not compatible.
     
    Oso likes this.
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    So your RC was 1.6 before and your AC was 1.7? That combo is not compatible.
     
  18. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    How are you always so fast? Is there more than one of you? ;-)
     
  19. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    US
    I might have multiplied (a few times) ;)
     
    SirAchie and Oso like this.
  20. hs748quad

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not sure how that happened. It said I needed to update drone, battery and tx firmware. I thought I updated the drone firmware, as that message disappeared.

    At any rate, it all syncs up now!!
     
    Oso likes this.