Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Issue with Video on Phone

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by cmt56ss, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. cmt56ss

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I must admit, I made a total newb mistake after I bought the PV2+ -- I installed a GoPro and this aftermarket FPV kit. I had a crash (on my maiden voyage), that damaged the HD-3D mount. I have since re-installed the original PV2+ camera/gimbal setup, I started to have issues with the picture as seen on my phone (using a Samsung Galaxy phone). The images/video freeze on my phone -- and some times they are pixelated (sp). I noticed one of the 8-pin wire was damaged, so I bought the FPV wire kit and replaced all 3 wires going to the camera. My next flight was better, but the issue still persists.

    The pictures and video that I take are flawless when I put them on the computer, this is not an issue with the camera, as it has not been through a hard landing of any sort. The issue seems to be the signal between my phone and the camera. I do use the Booster app, and yes, I have the range extender turned on. This issue mainly seems to occur in flight -- if I'm holding the phantom before take-off, the picture is generally spot on. Once the issue starts, it persists the entire flight. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Spitfire

    Spitfire Guest

    Hello,

    I'm using a Sanmsung Note 3 with the Android app and I must say that it is sometimes quite hard to "connect" to the camera.
    You either have a non detection of the Sd card, or no ability to "steer" the camera whatsoever: you must try repeatedly until it works but this is sometimes very long; always switching your Phantom off and back on and relaunching the software etc.

    Any hint?
     
  3. cmt56ss

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it is not hard for me to "connect" to the camera -- other than the issue I've described.
     
  4. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10
    try dropping the frame rate of the FPV to 15 fps, maybe try lower res too??
     
  5. Stile2112

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Union City, California
    I use a Note 3 and have no issues connecting to the camera.
     
  6. Catalina36

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio

    Same here. I do have to put it in Airplane mode but once I do that it doesn't lose connection.
     
  7. jdsfx

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    beyond vidio am am having wifi drop issues
    for the first month i had my p2v+ i had no problem, then in early july i could not stay connected to wifi extender..I think there may have been an app upgrade, but other than that everything is stock. i have tried both ipad and gs4 and have same issue. i got a new camera and cannot even bind with ipad but can bind for 30 sec w gs4 (ipad in airplane mode ) on ipad i forget all other networks and still disconnects from phantom
    
     
  8. cmt56ss

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I flew it yesterday -- first time since I started this thread -- was flying around my house, with a lot of tall trees, just didn't feel comfortable, so I shut it down for the day. I started to do some troubleshooting and try to correct the problem. When I hold the drone in my hands I get flawless picture, as soon as I put it on the ground, the picture on my phone freezes.

    At one point yesterday -- during the troubleshooting -- and by troubleshooting I mean gently jiggling the wires -- one of the gimbal motors started to smoke and I could smell burning electrical components. I shut it off, let it cool off. So I got back at it a little while later, and everything seem okay.... then when I started the motors the connection broke.

    So my problem has continued -- and gotten worse. I'm actually having the same problem as "jdsfx" in the previous post. I do the normal start-up procedures -- the wifi connects, and as soon as I start the motors the connection breaks, within 2 seconds. WTF am I doing wrong???