Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is this what I should buy? Missing anything?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by lightingbryan, Apr 30, 2014.

  1. I am about to buy a new bird. I am new to complicated systems so bare with me! Thanks! Here is what I have researched. Please look over it and make sure I didn't leave anything out. Or if there are a few better options. THANKS!

    Phantom 2 H3-3D kit http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... _with.html

    GoPro Hero 3+ Black http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F3F0GLU/ref ... IW4K&psc=1

    Extra DJI Phantom 2 Quadcopter Battery http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... ttery.html

    DJI AVL58 5.8 GHz Video Link Kit http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9 ... o_kit.html

    DJI iOSD Mini On Screen Display http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... ni_on.html

    DJI Phantom 2 FPV Cable & Hub http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... cable.html

    Aputure V-Screen VS-1 - 7-Inch Digital Video LCD Monitor http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FG709H6/ref ... P26YLEYJRB

    Battery for screen Maximalpower SON NP-F550 Battery http://www.amazon.com/Maximalpower-SON- ... TGR3D55MDE

    My question is what do I power the ALV58 RX with? And could I simplify the screen and RX power somehow? Also how do I mount the field monitor to the Phantom Controller.

    Thanks guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. MJB

    MJB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm contemplating getting the same thing. I have the Phantom 2 and H3-3D gimbal, but need the FPV system. I may just get this, but hopefully someone chimes in if this is decent.
     
  3. Boozshey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    You don't need the FPV hub.

    Do you know what that monitor does if it loses it's input signal? Some turn off and that's not what you want...
     
  4. No idea. But that brings up a good point. Why wouldn't I want the hub? Everyone has said its easy and it can reduce weight as you don't have a bunch of spliced wires. I will look into the monitor!
     
  5. Boozshey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is the monitor I bought... http://www.ebay.com/itm/140947005257?ss ... 1439.l2649

    Works perfect, half the price, and goes to white noise before total black out... You can power it with any 3S battery.

    As far as the FPV hub, you would be adding weight. Where do you think the wires that would be "spliced" plug into??? I will promise that you don't need that **** hub, but if you want to waste $12 I can send you my paypal address. ;)
     

  6. The manual states that after 30 seconds of no signal you must awake it from sleep by pressing any button but the power button. So it sounds like it would work ok?
     
  7. Boozshey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds it...
     
  8. MJB

    MJB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That monitor looks good to me too. I like the hood and it looks like a good size. How do you attach it to the remote? The key I think is to use analog instead of a digital signal, since when the digital signal is weak, it just goes blue.
     
  9. The ALV58 has a RCA A/V connector.

    The one that Boozsheyposted looks good. I need multiple inputs, as I sometime will use hdmi. I do a lot of cinematography and photography so I choose to get a higher end model.
     
  10. Boozshey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    I like that HDMI also, thats a nice touch.