Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is this the way it's supposed to behave?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ddublu, Nov 19, 2014.

  1. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    With the new controller (dial for gimbal control) does it always default back to 45 degrees when releasing the wheel? Meaning when I move the gimbal to a straight out horizon view, shouldn't it stay there until I move it somewhere else?
     
  2. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    plug the phantom to the Assistant go to Basic tab, select RC and change the controller type from Basic to upgraded.
    keep in mind that gimbal movement gain can not be controlled anymore, i think. it will always move with the same speed
    but you will see that it doesn't return back to 45 degrees when you move it now.
     
  3. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Upgraded was already checked...I went back to standard and then to upgraded again with no luck.
     
  4. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Here is how it's supposed to be....on mine, when I move the dial up and the GoPro/gimbal moves up it wont stay there when I let go of the wheel...

    http://youtu.be/pYpJv3QgEfc?t=3m
     
  5. Bayou flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the new version of the vision plus. When I release the dial the gimble will hold the current location. My gimble movements are very jerky with the dial, but smooth with the app. Are your movements smooth but not holding?
     
  6. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Exactly how I'd describe it. Smooth moves but if I let go and it snaps back to center then so does the gimbal. It doesn't stay where I left it.
     
  7. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well, I updated the gimbal firmware....it solved the wheel issue but I am back to it powering up with the gimbal face down each time.. Suppose I will wait until the next update. Frustrating.
     
  8. Bayou flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was given this info in another post and it corrected all issues with my gimble control.

    I cant find the **** link.<br />Search here ain't the best. A user named MopBar figured it out.. So give him cred please.<br /><br />What you need to is uninstall Remote Control Assist 1.1.<br />Download it again from DJI site and install.<br />Start the Remote Control Assist.<br />Plug in the Transmitter remote control and click calibrate - move all the sticks, then move the tilt-wheel up and down, then flickup/down with the Toggle switches S1 and S2 then click finish.<br />Close down the RC assist.<br />Start your phantom 3.6 Assist and calibrate again by moving all the sticks and then calibrate X1 (tilt Wheel).<br /><br />Let me know if it works..<br/>
     
  9. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Guess what? I'm in the same face down boat during start up. ddublu mine does not hit its lens when doing the IMU initialization. (But its close)

    I'm pretty sure even my old remote did this during initialization, but then came up to the the lever position right afterwards.
     
  10. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Confirmed. Rebound old transmitter did all calibrations etc. During IMU initialization it went face down rocked left and right. Then faced the gopro at the pot position of x1 lever.

    Since the new dial remote does does not have analog position to go to, it stays facing down. One would think DJI could fix this to go to up position after IMU initialization, but then again its DJI!
     
  11. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Wow, must have jinxed you...sorry! Hoping for a fix soon!
     
  12. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Just to be clear... I've seen nothing on DJI's website that would lead me to believe that the new TX will work with the P2V. But I can think of no reason why it wouldn't. Does anyone with an original P2V have the new TX? And if so... how's it going? :D


    Thanks...
    -slinger
     
  13. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Not following you...what am I missing?
     
  14. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Geert

    It is pretty smooth, just takes time to get used to using index finger on upper side.

    I have not tested out any distance flights to see if range is the same as old remote.

    Not really sure about the throttle lock at bottom of left stick. Seems like a non needed item. Unless you fly really high up and don't want to hold the throttle down for extended time.

    On a side note, I hate DJI batteries! And now I have a remote with their batteries ;)
     
  15. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    It is definitely smooth but starting up in face down position sucks.
     
  16. AlTiTuDe06

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using a h3-2d gimbal? If so it is NOT compatible with the new controller.... You will need to purchase a h3-3d.... I know it sucks I contacted Dji and they told me they "forgot" to test the h3-2d with new controller because it had been discontinued for a while.....
     
  17. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia

    I use an H3-3D.