Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is this the right set up to get for video DownLink?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Flames234, May 22, 2015.

  1. Flames234

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there,

    I'm looking to get a monitor/transmitter set up for my Phantom 2 and Hero 4 but want to make sure I have all the right components before I buy anything.
    I've got the 5.8g video downlink, black pearl monitor, mini IOSD, and hub cables:

    http://quadcopter.ie/5.8g-video-downlink-5.8g-video-downlink-dji-innovations

    http://quadcopter.ie/black-pearl-7'...monitor-with-built-in-32-channel-receiver-csi

    http://quadcopter.ie/iosd-mini-iosd-mini-dji-innovations

    http://quadcopter.ie/part-9-phantom...-phantom-2-fpv-cables-and-hub-dji-innovations

    Is this everything I need to get set up or have I left anything out?

    Any help would be much appreciated!
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    You do not need a 5.8Ghz receiver since the Black Pearl has a receiver builtin. Instead of the AVL58 system look at the immersion 600mw transmitter and get the plug n play cable for both TX and iOSD. Check prices for FPV equipment on either Amazon or Ebay as you can save a few dollars over Copter Shop prices.

    The iOSD mini can be installed inside the shell along with the anti-interference board and the only thing on the outside would be the TX and gimbal. There are videos on youtube that will show how to mount the iOSD, interference board and the plug n play cable inside the shell.

    IMG_5551.jpg IMG_1554.jpg
     
  3. Flames234

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Awesome thank you!

    Is this the right one?

    http://www.banggood.com/ImmersionRC-600mW-58GHz-AV-Transmitter-for-FatShark-p-925813.html

    And if so do I need to get a clover leaf antena to go with it?
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    For right stick with the stock antennas that come with the TX and Black Pearl. You will need this cable to hookup the TX and iOSD. See if banggood has it. Make sure it for the immersion tx.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Plug-and-Pl...124?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f459ea39c
     
  5. JustinJames

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Those are really great photos, Jason. Thank you :) You mention the anti-interference board. I can't see it in the photo. Where does it go? Tucked on the side inside if the leads are long enough?
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Here's a video on how to install the interference board inside the shell.
     
    JustinJames likes this.
  7. JustinJames

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thank you for that Jason. :)
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    This the newest photo of the iOSD and wiring after I removed the AVL58 TX and replace it with immersion 600mw TX.
    IMG_1551.jpg
     
    JustinJames likes this.
  9. JustinJames

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Again, thank you for the suggestions contained in your latest photo. I have spent the past 6 hours installing the fpv setup with the hardware listed in my signature below. Out of interest I tried the Black Pearl antennae and then swapped to the Blue Beam Ultra - and the difference was hugely improved. I've installed the anti-interference board as shown in the video you linked to, and with only the Immersion600 outside with the gimbal, it's about as clean an installation as one could get. It also seems to be working still - which is a good sign!
     
  10. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Makes for a cleaner look and also less drag which means a few minutes more of flight time.
     
    JustinJames likes this.
  11. JustinJames

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Africa
    Yes, it is very clean ... with an all-up weight of 1348gms which exceeds the DJI specs by approx 50gms. There is a finicky and fussy part of me that would like to get back inside the shell and shorten wires to lose weight - and make it neater. OK, so it's inside and out of sight, but I know!
     
    #11 JustinJames, May 26, 2015
    Last edited: May 26, 2015