Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is this sign of bad battery

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by ROD PAINTER, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    Had to go to atti mode last night. Was out about a mile, got a Rth due to low battery at 65%. Then went to critical battery and AC started to auto land at 2000ft. Switched to atti mode after seeing AC descending. Hit full up throttle and ascended to 300 ft. Was dark out and had los thanks to polar pro led lights flashing. Nursed it home against head wind and landed at 1% battery. Was that possible or was I getting false data? Had checked battery status and all cells within specs. Am afraid to use this battery anymore! When I charge it I have a solid red power on button but the LEDs are showing normal charging. Did a battery test by holding down power on button for 5 seconds and it shows 80% battery left. I thought motors would stop when battery was below 10 %. Thanks for anybody's input. Also flew with my 3 other batteries with no issues.



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    Please upload your flight log here and post a link back here so we can review this flight in more detail.

    The battery will shut off if any of the cells hit 3.0V.
     
  3. marcokemp810

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem last week. From 70%to critical 16% I just made it back home and I had 3%left of power. Recharge the battery and try again. It worked for me.

    Sent from my SM-G928F using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    ROD PAINTER likes this.
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Yes, upload your log to msinger's link, I will load mine up from earlier this year, mine didn't make it home because of a head wind.

    Rod
     
    ROD PAINTER likes this.
  5. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Be VERY careful trying to over-ride stretch the flight on ANY critical error but especially Critical Battery error. While it could be just a "glitch" in the programming Critical means get on the ground NOW. At least by landing off-site you still have the ability to control the descent but had the battery hit the CRITICAL Critical Low and show down (designed to try and preserve the battery) you would have lost all control (and video link etc).

    My advice would be to land immediately unless it was over water, highway or something else similar.

    Glad you made it back and hopefully the logs will give some clues.
     
    captainmilehigh likes this.
  6. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    If I would have landed right away it was 2000ft out. Would not have found it . Need to get a gps tracker!
     
  7. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    272
    Where are the requested logs?
     
  8. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Yes, I will when I can, just got back on line. When the other R.P. loads up his, I will change my Priority.
    ;)
     
  9. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    Having trouble getting them off go app
     
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Here is the data you will see,
    My flight, RTH was working until the battery died, then it headed back to china by the shortest route (RTC).
    If you have the google plugin, you can see a 3D view if you zoom in.

    Phantom Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

    One of my stories,
    Advanced - Grounded on Day 2. Camera Fail?

    O.K. RP, your turn, I am not giving up!

    Let us know where your stuck.
    ;)

    Rod
     
  11. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    Charged battery, all cells show good voltage. Will fly with it tonight! My internet keeps dropping out. I read somewhere that latest go app fixes a issue with getting text log files off of iPad. May have to update go app which I really don't want to do. Still on 2.8.3. Firmware is still on 1.8.80. Flew last night with other 4 batteries. No issues!
     
  12. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    From an iPad you have to use iTunes, go-app is not the issue.

    This video explains it for iTunes, the last step, is upload the file to http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/Upload/ instead of healthy drones.

    I have an Android that I have the Go-app on it and sync my flights with DJI's cloud between the two devices, then I connect the Android to the PC, and upload from there, iTunes is an irritation to me.

    Rod
     
  13. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    I have iTunes and followed the video exactly but would not show dji log file


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  14. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Ok, I will try when I get home (5 hrs), Only have iTunes installed on a WinXp computer in my garage.
    To get dji-go software on my old iPad2, I used iFunbox, I guess I don't know if iFunbox is for Windows, or for Mac and Windows, but it shows you a lot more of whats on your icrApple.

    Supposed to be over 100 F to day, and my garage isn't insulated, will see if any of my computers will be functioning.
    Current temp from my weather station,
    Weather | Personal Weather Station: KORHOODR6 by Wunderground.com | Weather Underground

    Rod
     
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Sorry man, but no go, did you get those from logs?
    You should have got it from flight records?
    the filename should be like this.

    "DJIFlightRecord_2015-08-25_[19-41-29].txt"

    Rod
     
  16. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    That's the only thing I could find on iTunes. Never had to upload anything so this is all new to me. Will try again if internet quits cutting out.
     
  17. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Took me out 15 mins, had to watch the video twice when I got home.

    IMG_7573.JPG

    IMG_7574.JPG

    So how far are you making it?

    What are you using for a computer?

    I didn't make it to 100. :eek:

    IMG_7571.PNG

    Rod

    This week it is the Pacific North sWeat
    :rolleyes:
     
  18. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    I give up. Tried using earlier version of iTunes and won't even run. I 'm running Window7. I charged the battery and stuck it in AC . Everything normal. All cells within specs. I have 4 other batteries and a new p3p that's never been used which I bought over 2 months ago so I would have a backup.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  19. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    48
    Used battery in question for 2 flights. No issues.