Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is this all that is needed for PC GS on P2 (non-vision)?

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by richparry, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I want to add PC Ground Station functionality to my P2 (non-Vision). My P2 includes FVP using IOSD mini, AVL-58 transmitter and receiver, and GoPro 3+ Black.

    Since I will be using PC GS and not an iPad GS, the BTU unit that comes with the kit is not needed, right?

    Is this all I need?
    http://www.amazon.com/DJI-Datalink-2-4g ... i+datalink

    Anyone have links to hardware installation procedures or photos of finished hardware configurations?

    Rich in San Diego
     
  2. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Yeah I think that's all you need except you'll need to solder a battery plug to the cord they supply. I put a deans plug since I already have heli's that use deans.

    Connecting to the phantom is easy... It plugs right into the can bus on the phantom's leg... The. I used high powered double stick tape to put the air unit right behind the zenmuse gimbal... I also zip tied the cable to the leg just in case.

    Since you're using PC I am not sure if the USB connection will power the ground end or not (I use ipad).

    Make sure you update the hardware etc.
     
  3. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    You don't need a battery or the BTU if you are using a laptop, the USB port will provide enough power for the ground end.
     
  4. Suwaneeguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    22
    for the pc side, all you need to do is plug the ground end into the pc via usb.
    Power is obtained through the pc.
     
  5. RobertMfromLI

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    What about the iOSD mini connection, then?
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    If you have the iOSD mini then you plug that in to the canbus port on the leg, and then connect the data link to the spare port on the side of the iOSD.
     
  7. RobertMfromLI

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks OI! :)