Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is there something wrong with hardware ?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dand., Jan 30, 2016.

  1. dand.

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi All,
    Today I made a few flights with my new P3A, the old on. RIP on some high tree,
    Took approximately 20 pictures, three were saved corrupted.
    Please let me know if I have to exchange my new drone, its just a week old.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Just keep flying.
     
  2. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    I would try making sure all firmware is up to date and then try formatting the sd card. If that does not work try another sd card and if it is still messed up then you would need to return/replace/repair it.
     
  3. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It does look like it's not managing to write the image file fast enough and got to be a good chance it's the SD card - have you formatted in the camera before starting?
    If you don't already have a second suitable one that's the first thing to try and it will be useful anyway.
    It's a little surprising but large JPG or RAW needs faster card than the HD video.
     
  4. Frankc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire, England
    If I were to guess your problem is not taking the photos, nice btw, its writing them. As previously mentioned change the SD card. You have not by any chance swapped the original card for a higher capacity one?
     
  5. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Looks like a card issue, what type of card are you using in your drone?
     
  6. pyro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this problem before and found it was because i brought a cheep sd card. Got new samsung sd card never had problem since
     
  7. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    530
    Going to pile on. It likely is a card issue. What card are you using. Is it a clean card. What size is it?


    Phantom 3 Pro / iPad Air 2
     
  8. Frankc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire, England
    Thats why I asked about the card. Most people think about the capacity. 64gb etc but never give the writing speed a thought. I bought a 64bg card with H10?? speed. Its the fastest and latest one anyway. No probs even with very large files.
     
  9. Frankc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire, England
  10. dand.

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    This SD card came with drone, its Panasonic 16Gb.
    Using the latest firmware
    Didn't format it yet.
    Didn't try another SD card.
    Last two will try today, see what happens. Thank you, will come back with results.


    Just keep flying.
     
  11. Rumbaar

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    So it wasn't full?
     
  12. dand.

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    10
    Went to search my missing P3A today. Two good news, pictures are just fine. Did format SD card in a drone. Second, fond missing bird, its way high, about 30m on the tree.


    Just keep flying.