Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is the TK102B Tracker any good?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Mike_UK, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. Mike_UK

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just got a TK102B tracker and I noticed that when switched on and passed close to my Phantom it makes the lights flash even though the Phantom is switched of. Has anyone had any issues using one of these on their Phantom?
     
  2. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    No..your tracker or phantom are possessed. ..
     
  3. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    Mine sends me some text to complain about the noise upthere...
     
  4. ilovecoffee

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have that same tracker, although it's years old and unfortunately I cannot get it to start up anymore. I think the battery is toast.

    I can't imagine why it would do that. Are the lights flickering? Or functioning like they would if the Phantom is on?

    If flickering, sounds like it's letting go of a **** load of EMF radiation possibly?
     
  5. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,622
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Tracker light flashing or Phantom lights :shock:
     
  6. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    its the same as an old nokia mobile phone battery BL5B if it helps
     
  7. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    906
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    What are you using for a tracker now, or are you using one at all? If you are not using one I may have a proposition for you.
     
  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    That's the funiest **** I have heard in a while.
    First of all the lights on the phantom flashing means its good. It just means the tracker is working and sending out data.
    The old nokia phones used to do this when you had led lights around them. It used to be novelty to have a nokia 5110 with an led antenna light. Everytime it rang or got an sms or changed towers it would flash. Its the same when you hold it next to a speaker, you will hear the "radiation" noise.

    Just make sure that you set the tracker to only send the sms gps coordinates when you ring it. DO NOT SET to ping every 30 seconds. Even though its on different bandwidth (2100/900 I think), it can flood the transmission. You want this to behave as a tracker and ping when told.
     
  9. Brent10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Will TK102B Tracker work on 3G network?

    I ordered a TK102B and have been unable to determine if it will support or use the 3G network (in the USA).
    ATT will be phasing out the 2G network so I am worried that this thing will soon become a brick if it only uses 2G.
    Or is 2G/3G only relevant for data and has no bearing on SMS. From my understanding the TK102B only utilizes calls and SMS to communicate and doesn't use any data networks.
    Anyone have any insight on this?
     
  10. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Re: Will TK102B Tracker work on 3G network?

    SMS is data, so if the TK is 2G, it will become a brick.
     
  11. ilovecoffee

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    17
    SMS isn't considered data in the informal consumer sense.

    But it is 2G which is GPRS, the old slow form of data. Which is fine in this application because it's just transmitting numbers (coordinates) to a server. Getting it set up is the tricky problem because it uses this weird Chinese website. Check the messages at the bottom of this product page, it seems like you can give them the device's IMEI and they will register it for viewing the location online once you get it set up.

    http://www.dx.com/s/tk102b
     
  12. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,622
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I love mine and has helped get it back on 2 mishaps !! When I got mine I bought it from a US seller and he sent 4 pages of info on setting it up and all the info you should need . I made a stickie of them in GD this morning and hope it is of help . :D
    viewtopic.php?f=32&t=34531
     
  13. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    it works out of the box, and it uses satellite tracking as well as GSM 2G, so its accurate to 1 metre, I know I had a reason to test it last week, and im glad I spent 30 pound on it.

    To set it up you simply send a text message to it such as wakeup 123456 (password is default) my instruction book is in English and there is also an App on the Iphone store for easy use.

    There are easy to read instructions here viewtopic.php?f=32&t=34531
     
  14. Brent10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yes, that will be helpful. Thanks!
     
  15. Brent10

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Do any of you bother using any of the phone apps that are out there for the TK102 series of trackers.
    Also, is there anything on the included CD worth messing with?

    I tested my new TK102B tracker today with an H20 Wireless $10 prepaid SIM (in USA). So far, it seems rather accurate and has responded with map coord links to each of my calls.

    The instructions say to charge the batteries for 8 to 12 hours before first use. DO NOT do this. Only charge until the LED turns from red to green lest your battery swell up.

    This is where I bought mine:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/171275544336?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT
     
  16. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,622
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    All I use mine for is to track my quad . Have never even looked at disc .