Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is the P3 more sensitive to interference than P2?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by dannyboy75, Jan 6, 2016.

  1. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried out my shiny new P3S for the first time today, at my work. Previously I flew my P2V from the same location without any connection issues.

    But with the P3S, I found that the aircraft won't connect to the Go app when I'm sat in the office. Even just outside the office where I always take off from, the P3 wouldn't connect until I moved about 12-15 feet away from the building. It was definitely some kind of interference thing because, as soon as I moved away from the building, it'd connect. Walk a couple of feet back towards the building and it'd disconnect again.

    Never had this problem with the P2, so I'm curious - is the P3 more susceptible to interference of this type, or have I got a duff one? Once it was off and flying (away from the building) it behaved perfectly.

    thanks
     
  2. Jesse_M

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    I'm curious too. I flew real quick yesterday in town just straight up a couple hundred feet and I got a yellow warning on the app about being cautious in long distance because of strong interference? Kinda strange. I've never heard mention of that warning. I was flying in the same open spot by a high school that I flew my P1 at a lot.
     
  3. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas
    It seems to me other wifi networks on the 2.4ghz bands will interfere. I'm not sure but looking over the antennas of the p3s they really should be better and I do not believe you get full channels with the stock setup on the radio side. I've wanted to see if the wifi channel mod helps it

    When I fly away from homes like in a park I get full range of at least 1000 meters
     
  4. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    I returned mine for a refund in the end, so will be interested to see if the replacement behaves the same way.
     
  5. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas
    Keep us updated


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, will do. It may be a few days before the replacement arrives and I get a chance to test it, but will post back with results.
     
  7. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well I got the replacement today, and it does seem to behave the same as the previous one at my workplace, so I guess it's just the way these P3S's are.

    Had another interesting moment after upgrading the firmware on this new one too. After rebooting the aircraft I was getting a continuous 'RC Signal lost' error. Fortunately a quick Google search and relinking the controller seems to have fixed it.

    Will test out the range tomorrow anyway, weather permitting.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas

    What phone or tablet are you using and OS version?
     
  9. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have an iPhone 5S running iOS9 (jailbroken).


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    P1 and P3a use difference radio ranges so Cant directly compare them.

    When I flew my P2vision plus from home I would shut off my router so I wasn't fighting that signal 20 feet behind me!

    good luck and have fun flying!
     
    GodFear17 likes this.
  11. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas
    Before I got my iPhone 6s plus, I ran it on a iPhone 6 and it ran great, perhaps something going on with the "jailbroken" aspect?

    As a last ditch effort, reboot the phone, then put it in airplane mode, turn on wifi and connect to the bird and see if that gives you a better connection. Make sure you have at least 1GB free space on the phone...

    Make sure the local recording is turned off... See how it does
     
  12. GodFear17

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Pasadena Texas

    I've been messing with the TX power settings on my router trying to find that sweet spot where it gives good wifi in my office, but doesn't go though the outside walls. :)
     
  13. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well the replacement P3S seems to be exactly the same as the first one, so I guess it's just how they are. To be honest I'm not surprised it picks up interference at my workplace, as it's a pretty large building with a lot of electrical stuff inside it. But it's just weird that my old P2V never had problems here.

    Maybe the internal WiFi extender in the P3S controller just doesn't work as well :-/